Madcap Experiment Kaladesh Pia Nalaar

Maulfist Doorbuster Maulfist Doorbuster English

Creature — Human Warrior 4/2, 3R (4)

When Maulfist Doorbuster enters the battlefield, you get {e}{e} (two energy counters).

Whenever Maulfist Doorbuster attacks, you may pay {e}. If you do, target creature can't block this turn.

"Knock, knock . . . too late."

Illus. Josh Hass

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: The target creature can’t block any creatures this turn. The effect isn’t restricted to just whether the creature can block Maulfist Doorbuster.
  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
  • 2/9/2017: Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of {e}. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {e} as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
  • 2/9/2017: If a triggered ability with one or more targets states that you “may pay” some amount of {e}, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the ability is countered. You can’t pay {e} even if you want to.
Printings:
#123 (Josh Hass)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Hammerfaust-Türbrecher
French Briseporte de Massepoing
Italian Sfondaporte Pugnomartello
Spanish Puñomaza perforapuertas
Portuguese Arrombador Punho-de-marreta
Japanese 襲拳会の扉破り
Simplified Chinese 槌拳会破门人
Russian Молотобоец, Крушитель Дверей
Traditional Chinese 槌拳會破門人
Korean 망치주먹무리 문파괴자


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Maulfist Doorbuster
View Decks with Maulfist Doorbuster
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.