Diabolic Tutor Kaladesh Dukhara Scavenger

Die Young Die Young English

Sorcery, 1B (2)

Choose target creature. You get {e}{e} (two energy counters), then you may pay any amount of {e}. The creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn for each {e} paid this way.

"When the time comes, let go. Nothing lasts forever."

Illus. Ryan Yee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: You choose the target creature as you cast Die Young. You don’t choose how much {e} to pay until Die Young is resolving. No player may take actions between the time you choose how much {e} to pay and the time the creature gets -1/-1 for each {e} paid this way.
  • 9/20/2016: If the target creature becomes an illegal target, Die Young is countered and none of its effects happen. You won’t get {e}{e} or be able to pay any {e}.
  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
Printings:
#76 (Ryan Yee)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Common)

Languages:
German Stirb jung
French Mourir jeune
Italian Morte Anticipata
Spanish Tempus fugit
Portuguese Morrer Jovem
Japanese 短命
Simplified Chinese 英年早逝
Russian Умри Молодым
Traditional Chinese 英年早逝
Korean 요절


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Die Young
View Decks with Die Young
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.