Built to Last Kaladesh Cataclysmic Gearhulk

Captured by the Consulate Captured by the Consulate English

Enchantment — Aura, 3W (4)

Enchant creature you don't control

Enchanted creature can't attack.

Whenever an opponent casts a spell, if it has a single target, change the target to enchanted creature if able.

"At last, the infamous Pia Nalaar."
—Tezzeret

Illus. Tyler Jacobson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: When you attach Captured by the Consulate to an opponent’s creature, you still control Captured by the Consulate. Its last ability triggers whenever your opponents cast a spell with a single target, not when an opponent of the creature’s controller casts a spell with a single target.
  • 9/20/2016: When a player casts an Aura spell, it targets the creature that it will enchant and may cause Captured by the Consulate’s last ability to trigger.
  • 9/20/2016: If a spell has multiple targets, it doesn’t have a single target even if the same object is chosen for each of those targets.
  • 9/20/2016: If the spell can’t target the enchanted creature, its target remains unchanged.
  • 9/20/2016: If there is more than one Captured by the Consulate on the battlefield, the triggered ability of each one will change the target if able. The last one to resolve determines what that spell finally targets. If one player controls more than one Capture by the Consulate, he or she chooses the order in which they resolve. If multiple players control those Auras, the first player among them in turn order (starting with the player whose turn it is now) is the one whose triggered ability resolves last.
  • 9/20/2016: There are many important moments in the story, but the most crucial—called “story spotlights”—are shown on cards. You can read more about these events in the official Magic fiction at http://www.mtgstory.com.
Printings:
#8 (Tyler Jacobson)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Rare)

Languages:
German Inhaftiert vom Konsulat
French Capturée par le consulat
Italian Cattura del Consolato
Spanish Arresto consular
Portuguese Capturada pelo Consulado
Japanese 領事府による拘禁
Simplified Chinese 执政院缉捕
Russian В Плену у Консульства
Traditional Chinese 執政院緝捕
Korean 영사관에게 체포되다


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Captured by the Consulate
View Decks with Captured by the Consulate
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.