Maulfist Squad Kaladesh Mind Rot

Midnight Oil Midnight Oil English

Enchantment, 2BB (4)

Midnight Oil enters the battlefield with seven hour counters on it.

At the beginning of your draw step, draw an additional card and remove two hour counters from Midnight Oil.

Your maximum hand size is equal to the number of hour counters on Midnight Oil.

Whenever you discard a card, you lose 1 life.

Illus. Daniel Ljunggren

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: If multiple effects try to set your maximum hand size to a certain number or state that you have no maximum hand size, the one created latest is the one that applies.
  • 9/20/2016: If Midnight Oil has only one hour counter on it, its first triggered ability will remove that one counter.
  • 9/20/2016: If Midnight Oil has no hour counters on it, its first triggered ability will continue to trigger and have you draw an additional card, even though you can’t remove any counters from it.
  • 9/20/2016: Your maximum hand size is only checked during the cleanup step of your turn. At other times, you may have more cards in hand than your maximum hand size.
  • 9/20/2016: If you discard a card during your cleanup step while you control Midnight Oil, its last ability will trigger, and players will get priority in your cleanup step. You’ll have another cleanup step after that one before continuing to the next player’s turn.
Printings:
#92 (Daniel Ljunggren)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Rare)

Languages:
German Nachtschicht
French Nuit blanche
Italian Ore Piccole
Spanish Hasta el último segundo
Portuguese Varar a Noite
Japanese 夜更かし
Simplified Chinese 焚膏继晷
Russian Полуночные Бдения
Traditional Chinese 焚膏繼晷
Korean 철야


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Midnight Oil
View Decks with Midnight Oil
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.