Bloodsoaked Champion Khans of Tarkir Debilitating Injury

Dead Drop Dead Drop English

Sorcery, 9B (10)

Delve (Each card you exile from your graveyard while casting this spell pays for {1}.)

Target player sacrifices two creatures.

Got a diving lesson
—Sultai expression meaning
"was fed to the crocodiles"

Illus. Greg Staples

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2014: The target player chooses which creatures he or she will sacrifice as Dead Drop resolves. If the player controls only one creature at that time, he or she will sacrifice it.
  • 9/20/2014: Dead Drop doesn’t target any creature. The target player could sacrifice a creature with hexproof, for example.
  • 9/20/2014: The rules for delve have changed slightly since it was last in an expansion. Previously, delve reduced the cost to cast a spell. Under the current rules, you exile cards from your graveyard at the same time you pay the spell’s cost. Exiling a card this way is simply another way to pay that cost.
  • 9/20/2014: Delve doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost. For example, Dead Drop’s converted mana cost is 10 even if you exiled three cards to cast it.
  • 9/20/2014: You can’t exile cards to pay for the colored mana requirements of a spell with delve.
  • 9/20/2014: You can’t exile more cards than the generic mana requirement of a spell with delve. For example, you can’t exile more than nine cards from your graveyard to cast Dead Drop.
  • 9/20/2014: Because delve isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
Printings:
#67 (Greg Staples)

Editions:
English Khans of Tarkir (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Sturz in den Tod
French Chute fatale
Italian Caduta Mortale
Spanish Caída mortal
Portuguese Queda Fatal
Japanese 死の投下
Simplified Chinese 投落处死
Russian Смертельное Падение
Traditional Chinese 投落處死
Korean 죽음의 낙하


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Dead Drop
View Decks with Dead Drop
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.