Canyon Minotaur Magic 2010 Chandra Nalaar

Capricious Efreet Capricious Efreet English

Creature — Efreet 6/4, 4RR (6)

At the beginning of your upkeep, choose target nonland permanent you control and up to two target nonland permanents you don't control. Destroy one of them at random.

"You wish for great destruction? It is done, my master."

Illus. Justin Sweet

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If Capricious Efreet is the only nonland permanent you control when its ability triggers, you'll have to target it.
  • 10/1/2009: You may target zero, one, or two nonland permanents you don't control.
  • 10/1/2009: You target between one and three permanents as you put the ability on the stack. You don't randomly choose which one will be destroyed until the ability resolves. If one of those permanents has become an illegal target by then, you randomly choose between the remaining ones.
  • 10/1/2009: As the ability resolves, there is no time to react between the time a permanent is chosen at random and the time it's destroyed. If you want to put a regeneration shield on one of those permanents, or sacrifice it for some effect, or anything else, you must do so before the ability resolves (and before you know which one of the permanents will be chosen at random).
  • 7/1/2013: If one of the targets has indestructible, it can be chosen at random but nothing will happen to it if it is.
Printings:
#131 (Justin Sweet)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Rare)
English Magic 2010 (Rare)

Languages:
German Kapriziöser Ifrit
French Éfrit capricieux
Italian Efreet Capriccioso
Spanish Efrit caprichoso
Portuguese Efrite Caprichoso
Japanese 気まぐれイフリート
Simplified Chinese 任性魔神
Russian Капризный Ифрит


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Capricious Efreet
View Decks with Capricious Efreet
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.