Snapping Drake Magic 2010 Telepathy

Sphinx Ambassador Sphinx Ambassador English

Creature — Sphinx 5/5, 5UU (7)

Flying

Whenever Sphinx Ambassador deals combat damage to a player, search that player's library for a card, then that player names a card. If you searched for a creature card that isn't the named card, you may put it onto the battlefield under your control. Then that player shuffles his or her library.

Illus. Jim Murray

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You may search for any card, not just a creature card. Of course, if you choose a noncreature card, you won't be able to put it onto the battlefield no matter what card the player names.
  • 10/1/2009: Once you've chosen a card during your search, you must clearly indicate which card you've chosen (preferably without showing the front of that card to the player!). Then the player names a card.
  • 10/1/2009: After the player names a card, check if the card you chose has that name. If it doesn't, but it's a creature card, you may put it onto the battlefield. If you don't want to put that card onto the battlefield, it's not a creature card, or it does have the name the player said, it simply stays in that player's library without ever being revealed. The player then shuffles his or her library, including that card.
  • 10/1/2009: A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.
Printings:
#73 (Jim Murray)

Editions:
English Magic 2010 (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Botschafter-Sphinx
French Ambassadeur sphinx
Italian Sfinge Ambasciatrice
Spanish Esfinge embajadora
Portuguese Esfinge Embaixadora
Japanese スフィンクスの大使
Simplified Chinese 史芬斯大使
Russian Сфинкс-Посланник


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sphinx Ambassador
View Decks with Sphinx Ambassador
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.