Magic 2011 Ajani's Mantra

Ajani Goldmane Ajani Goldmane English

Planeswalker — Ajani (Loyalty: 4), 2WW (4)

+1: You gain 2 life.

−1: Put a +1/+1 counter on each creature you control. Those creatures gain vigilance until end of turn.

−6: Put a white Avatar creature token onto the battlefield. It has "This creature's power and toughness are each equal to your life total."

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2007: The vigilance granted to a creature by the second ability remains until the end of the turn even if the +1/+1 counter is removed.
  • 10/1/2007: The power and toughness of the Avatar created by the third ability will change as your life total changes.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#1 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English Magic 2011 (Mythic Rare)
English Magic 2010 (Mythic Rare)
English Lorwyn (Rare)
English Pro Tour (Special)

Languages:
German Ajani Goldmähne
French Ajani Crinièredor
Italian Ajani Criniera D'Oro
Spanish Ajani Melena Dorada
Portuguese Ajani Juba D'ouro
Japanese 黄金のたてがみのアジャニ
Simplified Chinese 金鬃阿耶尼
Russian Златогривый Аджани
Traditional Chinese 金鬃阿耶尼


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Ajani Goldmane
View Decks with Ajani Goldmane
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.