Nightwing Shade Magic 2011 Quag Sickness

Phylactery Lich Phylactery Lich English

Creature — Zombie 5/5, BBB (3)

Indestructible

As Phylactery Lich enters the battlefield, put a phylactery counter on an artifact you control.

When you control no permanents with phylactery counters on them, sacrifice Phylactery Lich.

Illus. Michael Komarck

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: Phylactery Lich's first ability doesn't target the artifact. You can choose an artifact that has shroud, for example.
  • 8/15/2010: If you control no artifacts as Phylactery Lich enters the battlefield, its first ability won't do anything. As soon as it enters the battlefield, its last ability will trigger (unless you control some other permanent with a phylactery counter on it) and you'll have to sacrifice it.
  • 8/15/2010: If Phylactery Lich and an artifact are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you can't put a phylactery counter on that artifact. You must choose an artifact you control that's already on the battlefield.
  • 8/15/2010: Phylactery Lich's last ability is a "state trigger." Once a state trigger triggers, it won't trigger again as long as the ability is on the stack. If the ability is countered and the trigger condition is still true, it will immediately trigger again.
  • 8/15/2010: Phylactery Lich's last ability checks whether you control any permanents with phylactery counters on them, not whether you control any artifacts with phylactery counters on them. If an artifact with a phylactery counter on it somehow ceases to be an artifact, Phylactery Lich doesn't care.
  • 8/15/2010: Phylactery Lich's last ability checks your permanents for any phylactery counters, not just the specific one that it caused you to put on an artifact. For example, say you put a phylactery counter on a Demon's Horn as Phylactery Lich enters the battlefield. Then you put a phylactery counter on a Crystal Ball as another Phylactery Lich enters the battlefield. Then Crystal Ball is destroyed. Since you still control the Demon's Horn, the last ability of neither Phylactery Lich triggers.
  • 8/15/2010: The game continually checks whether you control a permanent with a phylactery counter on it. The moment you don't, Phylactery Lich's last ability triggers. The ability doesn't check again, so you'll have to sacrifice Phylactery Lich when it resolves even if you wind up controlling a permanent with a phylactery counter on it by then.
  • 7/1/2013: Lethal damage, damage from a source with deathtouch, and effects that say "destroy" won't cause a creature with indestructible to be put into the graveyard. However, a creature with indestructible can be put into the graveyard for a number of reasons. The most likely reasons Phylactery Lich would be put into a graveyard are if it's sacrificed (perhaps due to its last ability), or if its toughness is 0 or less.
Printings:
#110 (Michael Komarck)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Rare)
English Magic 2011 (Rare)

Languages:
German Phylakterion-Lich
French Liche aux phylactères
Italian Lich del Filatterio
Spanish Liche de la filacteria
Portuguese Lich do Talismã
Japanese 聖句札の死者
Simplified Chinese 避邪符巫妖
Russian Лич с Филактерией
Traditional Chinese 避邪符巫妖
Korean 부적 리치


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Phylactery Lich
View Decks with Phylactery Lich
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.