Lightning Elemental Magic 2012 Manic Vandal

Manabarbs Manabarbs English

Enchantment, 3R (4)

Whenever a player taps a land for mana, Manabarbs deals 1 damage to that player.

"I don't know why people say a double-edged sword is bad. It's a sword. With two edges."
—Kamahl, pit fighter

Illus. Jeff Miracola

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: This card has a triggered ability that causes a separate effect for 1 point of damage each time a land is tapped for mana.
  • 10/1/2009: This ability is not a mana ability. It goes on the stack and can be responded to.
  • 10/1/2009: The ability will trigger each time a land is tapped for mana. Each ability is separate.
  • 10/1/2009: If any lands are tapped for mana while a player is casting a spell or activating an ability, Manabarbs's ability will trigger that many times and wait. When the player finishes casting that spell or activating that ability, it's put on the stack, then Manabarbs's triggered abilities are put on the stack on top of it. The Manabarbs abilities will resolve first.
  • 10/1/2009: On the other hand, a player can tap lands for mana, let the Manabarbs triggered abilities be put on the stack, and then respond to those abilities by casting an instant or activating an ability using that mana. In that case, the spell or ability will resolve first.
Printings:
#150 (Jeff Miracola)

Editions:
English Magic 2012 (Rare)
English Magic 2010 (Rare)
English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Rare)
English Fifth Edition (Rare)
English Fourth Edition (Rare)
English Revised Edition (Rare)
English International Collectors' Edition (Rare)
English Collector's Edition (Rare)
English Unlimited Edition (Rare)
English Limited Edition Beta (Rare)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Rare)

Languages:
German Manahaken
French Barbelures de mana
Italian Mana Spinato
Spanish Espinas de maná
Portuguese Farpas de Mana
Japanese 魔力のとげ
Simplified Chinese 法术力倒钩
Russian Уколы Маны
Traditional Chinese 魔法力倒鉤


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Manabarbs
View Decks with Manabarbs
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.