Clone Magic 2013 Divination

Courtly Provocateur Courtly Provocateur English

Creature — Human Wizard 1/1, 2U (3)

{T}: Target creature attacks this turn if able.

{T}: Target creature blocks this turn if able.

"My one regret is that I have mastered an art that leaves its audience unable to applaud."

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2012: After the first ability resolves, the creature attacks only if it’s able to do so as the declare attackers step begins. If, at that time, the creature is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can’t attack, or hasn’t been under that player’s control continuously since the turn began (and doesn’t have haste), then it doesn’t attack. If there’s a cost associated with having the creature attack, the player isn’t forced to pay that cost, so it doesn’t attack in that case either.
  • 7/1/2012: The controller of the creature targeted by the first ability chooses which player or planeswalker that creature attacks.
  • 7/1/2012: After the second ability resolves, the creature blocks only if it’s able to do so as the declare blockers step begins. If, at that time, the creature is tapped, is affected by a spell or ability that says it can’t block, or no creatures are attacking that player or a planeswalker controlled by that player, then it doesn’t block. If there’s a cost associated with having the creature block, the player isn’t forced to pay that cost, so it doesn’t block in that case either.
  • 7/1/2012: The controller of the creature targeted by the second ability chooses which attacking creature that creature blocks.
  • 7/1/2012: If there are multiple combat phases in a turn, the creature must attack or block only in the first one in which it’s able to.
Printings:
#46 (James Ryman)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Vornehme Provokateurin
French Provocatrice de cour
Italian Provocatore di Corte
Spanish Provocador cortés
Portuguese Desafiador Cortês
Japanese 上品な工作員
Simplified Chinese 优雅挑拨师
Russian Утонченный Провокатор
Traditional Chinese 優雅挑撥師
Korean 품위 있는 선동가


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Courtly Provocateur
View Decks with Courtly Provocateur
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.