Omniscience Magic 2013 Rewind

Redirect Redirect English

Instant, UU (2)

You may choose new targets for target spell.

"It's actually quite simple, but since you've only recently begun to walk upright, it may take some time to explain."
—Jace Beleren, to Garruk Wildspeaker

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 8/15/2010: If the targeted spell is modal (that is, it says "Choose one --" or the like), you can't choose a different mode.
  • 8/15/2010: If you cast Redirect targeting a spell that targets a spell on the stack (like Cancel does, for example), you can't change that spell's target to itself. You can, however, change that spell's target to Redirect. If you do, that spell will be countered when it tries to resolve because Redirect will have left the stack by then.
  • 8/15/2010: Redirect can target any spell, not just an instant or sorcery spell. For example, you could use it to change the target of an Aura spell. However, if the targeted spell has no targets (for example, if it's an instant or sorcery spell that doesn't specifically use the word "target," or if it's a creature spell), Redirect won't have any effect on it.
Printings:
#64 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Rare)
English Magic 2012 (Rare)
English Magic 2011 (Rare)

Languages:
German Umlenken
French Redirection
Italian Dirottare
Spanish Redireccionar
Portuguese Defletir
Japanese 移し変え
Simplified Chinese 移转
Russian Перенацеливание
Traditional Chinese 移轉
Korean 전향


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Redirect
View Decks with Redirect
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.