Sphinx of Uthuun Magic 2013 Switcheroo

Stormtide Leviathan Stormtide Leviathan English

Creature — Leviathan 8/8, 5UUU (8)

Islandwalk (This creature can't be blocked as long as defending player controls an Island.)

All lands are Islands in addition to their other types.

Creatures without flying or islandwalk can't attack.

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: Islandwalk cares about lands with the land type Island, not necessarily lands named Island.
  • 8/15/2010: Stormtide Leviathan's second ability causes each land on the battlefield to have the land type Island. Each land thus has the ability to tap to add {U} to its controller's mana pool. This effect doesn't change anything else about those lands, including their names, other subtypes, other abilities, or whether they're legendary, basic, or snow.
  • 8/15/2010: If Stormtide Leviathan loses its abilities, all lands on the battlefield (including those that enter the battlefield later on) will still be Islands in addition to their other types and will still be able to tap to produce {U}. The way continuous effects work, Stormtide Leviathan's type-changing ability is applied before the effect that removes that ability is applied.
  • 8/15/2010: Stormtide Leviathan's third ability affects all creatures with neither flying nor islandwalk, regardless of who controls them. They can't attack any player or planeswalker.
Printings:
#70 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Rare)
English Magic 2013 (Rare)
English Magic 2011 (Rare)

Languages:
German Sturmtief-Leviathan
French Léviathan de la houle
Italian Leviatano della Burrasca
Spanish Leviatán marea de tormenta
Portuguese Leviatã da Tormenta Marinha
Japanese 嵐潮のリバイアサン
Simplified Chinese 暴潮海怪
Russian Левиафан Штормового Прилива
Traditional Chinese 暴潮海怪
Korean 폭풍파도 리바이어던


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Stormtide Leviathan
View Decks with Stormtide Leviathan
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.