Staff of the Wild Magus Magic 2014 Core Set Trading Post

Strionic Resonator Strionic Resonator English

Artifact, 2 (2)

{2}, {T}: Copy target triggered ability you control. You may choose new targets for the copy. (A triggered ability uses the words "when," "whenever," or "at.")

Its tines cannot be rung by mere physical force. Only magic of great power can start its eldritch resonance.

Illus. Noah Bradley

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2013: Strionic Resonator targets a triggered ability that has triggered and is on the stack.
  • 7/1/2013: The source of the copy is the same as the source of the original ability.
  • 7/1/2013: If the triggered ability is modal (that is, if it says “Choose one —” or similar), the mode is copied and can’t be changed.
  • 7/1/2013: If the triggered ability divides damage or distributes counters among a number of targets (for example, the ability of Bogardan Hellkite), the division and number of targets can’t be changed. If you choose new targets, you must choose the same number of targets.
  • 7/1/2013: Any choices made when the triggered ability resolves won’t have been made yet when it’s copied. Any such choices will be made separately when the copy resolves. If the triggered ability asks you to pay a cost (for example, as the extort ability from the Return to Ravnica block does), you pay that cost for the copy.
  • 7/1/2013: If a triggered ability is linked to a second ability, copies of that triggered ability are also linked to that second ability. If the second ability refers to “the exiled card,” it refers to all cards exiled by the triggered ability and the copy. For example, if Exclusion Ritual’s enters-the-battlefield ability is copied and two nonland permanents are exiled, players can’t cast spells with the same name as either exiled card.
  • 7/1/2013: In some cases involving linked abilities, an ability requires information about “the exiled card.” When this happens, the ability gets multiple answers. If these answers are being used to determine the value of a variable, the sum is used. For example, if Elite Arcanist’s enters-the-battlefield ability is copied, two cards are exiled. The value of X in the activation cost of Elite Arcanist’s other ability is the sum of the two cards’ converted mana costs. As the ability resolves, you create copies of both cards and can cast none, one, or both of the copies in any order.
Printings:
#224 (Noah Bradley)

Editions:
English Magic 2014 Core Set (Rare)

Languages:
German Strionischer Resonator
French Résonateur strionique
Italian Risonatore Strionico
Spanish Resonador estriónico
Portuguese Ressonador Estriônico
Japanese ストリオン共鳴体
Simplified Chinese 基尼共振器
Russian Стрионический Резонатор
Traditional Chinese 基尼共振器
Korean 초정밀 공명장치


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Strionic Resonator
View Decks with Strionic Resonator
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.