Dread Defiler Media Inserts Gladehart Cavalry

Tyrant of Valakut Tyrant of Valakut English

Creature — Dragon 5/4, 5RR (7)

Surge {3}{R}{R} (You may cast this spell for its surge cost if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn.)

Flying

When Tyrant of Valakut enters the battlefield, if its surge cost was paid, it deals 3 damage to target creature or player.

Illus. Steven Belledin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2016: For some cards, surge represents only an alternative cost, a discount that applies if you or a teammate has cast another spell this turn. Other cards, like Reckless Bushwhacker, have additional abilities or effects if you paid the surge cost to cast the spell.
  • 1/22/2016: The other spell that you or a teammate cast can be one that’s resolved, one that was countered, or (for instants with surge) one that’s still on the stack.
  • 1/22/2016: If an instant or sorcery spell cast for its surge cost is copied, the copy is also considered to have had its surge cost paid.
  • 1/22/2016: Casting a spell for its surge cost doesn’t change its mana cost or its converted mana cost.
Comment:

Intro Pack Promo (Oath of the Gatewatch)

Printings:
#146 (Steven Belledin)

Editions:
English Oath of the Gatewatch (Rare)
English Media Inserts (Special)

Languages:
German Tyrann von Valakut
French Tyran de Valakut
Italian Tiranno di Valakut
Spanish Tirano de Valakut
Portuguese Tirano de Valakut
Japanese ヴァラクートの暴君
Simplified Chinese 瓦拉库暴君
Russian Тиран Валакута
Traditional Chinese 瓦拉庫暴君
Korean 발라쿠트의 폭군


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Tyrant of Valakut
View Decks with Tyrant of Valakut
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.