Barl's Cage MTGO Masters Edition III Bone Flute

Black Vise Black Vise English

Artifact, 1 (1)

As Black Vise enters the battlefield, choose an opponent.

At the beginning of the chosen player's upkeep, Black Vise deals X damage to that player, where X is the number of cards in his or her hand minus 4.

Illus. Richard Thomas

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: You choose one opposing player as it enters the battlefield and it only affects that one player. This choice is not changed even if Black Vise changes controllers. It becomes useless but stays on the battlefield if that player leaves the game.
  • 10/1/2009: If the chosen player has four or fewer cards in his or her hand as Black Vise's ability resolves, the ability just won't do anything that turn.
  • Banned in Legacy (Type 1.5)
Comment:

ONLY AVAILABLE ONLINE

Printings:
#191 (Richard Thomas)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Relics (Mythic Rare)
English Fourth Edition (Uncommon)
English Revised Edition (Uncommon)
English International Collectors' Edition (Uncommon)
English Collector's Edition (Uncommon)
English Unlimited Edition (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Beta (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
German Todespresse
French Etau de supplice
Italian Morsa Maledetta
Spanish Tornillo siniestro
Portuguese Prensa Negra


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Black Vise
View Decks with Black Vise
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.