Notorious Throng Morningtide Sage of Fables

Research the Deep Research the Deep English

Sorcery, 1U (2)

Draw a card. Clash with an opponent. If you win, return Research the Deep to its owner's hand. (Each clashing player reveals the top card of his or her library, then puts that card on the top or bottom. A player wins if his or her card had a higher converted mana cost.)

Illus. Eric Fortune

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/1/2008: If you win the clash, the spell moves from the stack to your hand as part of its resolution. It never hits the graveyard. If you don't win the clash, the spell is put into the graveyard from the stack as normal.
  • 4/1/2008: If the spell is countered for any reason (for example, if all its targets become illegal), none of its effects happen. There is no clash, and the spell card won't be returned to your hand.
Printings:
#46 (Eric Fortune)

Editions:
English Morningtide (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Die Tiefen erforschen
French Recherche dans les profondeurs
Italian Setacciare gli Abissi
Spanish Investigar las profundidades
Portuguese Pesquisar as Profundezas
Japanese 深遠の研究
Simplified Chinese 探究深水
Russian Исследование Глубин
Traditional Chinese 探究深水


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Research the Deep
View Decks with Research the Deep
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.