Sword of War and Peace New Phyrexia Trespassing Souleater

Torpor Orb Torpor Orb English

Artifact, 2 (2)

Creatures entering the battlefield don't cause abilities to trigger.

"Phyrexia is certainly dangerous, but I have to admire some of its innovations."
—Tezzeret

Illus. Svetlin Velinov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2011: Torpor Orb stops a creature's own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that would trigger when a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 6/1/2011: The trigger event doesn't have to specify "creatures" entering the battlefield. For example, Amulet of Vigor says "Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, untap it." If a creature enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would not trigger. If a land (that isn't also a creature) enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would trigger.
  • 6/1/2011: Abilities that create replacement effects, such as a permanent entering the battlefield tapped or with counters on it, are unaffected.
  • 6/1/2011: Abilities that apply "as [this creature] enters the battlefield," such as choosing a creature to copy with Clone, are unaffected.
  • 6/1/2011: Look at the permanent as it exists on the battlefield, taking into account continuous effects, to determine whether any triggered abilities will trigger. For example, if you control March of the Machines, which says, in part, "Each noncreature artifact is an artifact creature," Torpor Orb will be a creature when it enters the battlefield and will not cause triggered abilities to trigger.
  • 6/1/2011: If Torpor Orb and a creature enter the battlefield at the same time, that creature entering the battlefield won't cause triggered abilities to trigger.
Printings:
#162 (Svetlin Velinov)

Editions:
English New Phyrexia (Rare)

Languages:
German Kugel der Erstarrtheit
French Orbe de torpeur
Italian Globo del Torpore
Spanish Orbe de torpor
Portuguese Orbe Tórpida
Japanese 倦怠の宝珠
Simplified Chinese 迟钝法球
Russian Шар Оцепенения
Traditional Chinese 遲鈍法球


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Torpor Orb
View Decks with Torpor Orb
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.