Clone Onslaught Crafty Pathmage

Complicate Complicate English

Instant, 2U (3)

Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.

Cycling {2}{U} ({2}{U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

When you cycle Complicate, you may counter target spell unless its controller pays {1}.

Illus. Scott M. Fischer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: Cycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with cycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 10/1/2008: When you cycle this card, first the cycling ability goes on the stack, then the triggered ability goes on the stack on top of it. The triggered ability will resolve before you draw a card from the cycling ability.
  • 10/1/2008: The cycling ability and the triggered ability are separate. If the triggered ability is countered (with Stifle, for example, or if all its targets have become illegal), the cycling ability will still resolve and you’ll draw a card.
  • 10/1/2008: You can cycle this card even if there are no targets for the triggered ability. That’s because the cycling ability itself has no targets.
Printings:
#76 (Scott M. Fischer)

Editions:
English Onslaught (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Verkomplizieren
French Complication
Italian Complicare
Spanish Complicar
Portuguese Complicar


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Complicate
View Decks with Complicate
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.