Bone to Ash Magic Origins Clash of Wills

Calculated Dismissal Calculated Dismissal English

Instant, 2U (3)

Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.

Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, scry 2. (To scry 2, look at the top two cards of your library, then put any number of them on the bottom of your library and the rest on top in any order.)

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: If the spell mastery ability applies, you’ll scry 2 even if the controller of the spell pays {3}.
  • 6/22/2015: In one unusual situation, you can cast Calculated Dismissal targeting an instant or sorcery spell you control while there is one instant or sorcery card in your graveyard. In this situation, if you decline to pay {3}, the spell will be countered and put into your graveyard. The spell mastery ability will then apply and you’ll scry 2.
  • 6/22/2015: Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won’t count because it’s still on the stack as you make this check.
Printings:
#48 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Common)

Languages:
German Kalkulierte Zurückweisung
French Rejet calculé
Italian Annullamento Premeditato
Spanish Anulación calculada
Portuguese Dispensa Calculada
Japanese 計算された放逐
Simplified Chinese 精心驱散
Russian Просчитанный Отказ
Traditional Chinese 精心驅散
Korean 계산된 일축


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Calculated Dismissal
View Decks with Calculated Dismissal
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.