Primal Plasma Planechase 2012 Edition See Beyond

Sakashima's Student Sakashima's Student English

Creature — Human Ninja 0/0, 2UU (4)

Ninjutsu {1}{U} ({1}{U}, Return an unblocked attacker you control to hand: Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand tapped and attacking.)

You may have Sakashima's Student enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it's still a Ninja in addition to its other creature types.

Illus. Brian Snoddy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2012: Because you return the unblocked attacking creature to its owner's hand while activating the ninjutsu ability, you can't have Sakashima's Student enter the battlefield as a copy of that creature.
  • 6/1/2012: Sakashima's Student copies exactly what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below) and it is a Ninja in addition to its other types. It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or any Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
  • 6/1/2012: If the chosen creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is zero.
  • 6/1/2012: If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Sakashima's Student), then your Sakashima's Student enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.
  • 6/1/2012: If the chosen creature is a token, Sakashima's Student copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield. Sakashima's Student is not a token.
  • 6/1/2012: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Sakashima's Student enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature (like devour) will also work.
  • 6/1/2012: If Sakashima's Student somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Sakashima's Student can't become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that's already on the battlefield.
  • 6/1/2012: You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Sakashima's Student enters the battlefield as a 0/0 creature, and is probably put into the graveyard immediately.
Printings:
#24 (Brian Snoddy)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Rare)

Languages:
German Sakashimas Lehrling
French Élève de Sakashima
Italian Studente di Sakashima
Spanish Estudiante de Sakashima
Japanese 逆嶋の学徒


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sakashima's Student
View Decks with Sakashima's Student
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.