Boltwing Marauder Prerelease Events Damnable Pact

Crater Elemental Crater Elemental English

Creature — Elemental 0/6, 2R (3)

{R}, {T}, Sacrifice Crater Elemental: Crater Elemental deals 4 damage to target creature.

Formidable — {2}{R}: Crater Elemental has base power 8 until end of turn. Activate this ability only if creatures you control have total power 8 or greater.

Illus. Svetlin Velinov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/25/2015: Crater Elemental’s last ability overrides all previous effects that set its power to a specific value. Other effects that set its power to a specific value that start to apply after the ability resolves will override this effect.
  • 2/25/2015: Effects that modify Crater Elemental’s power, such as the effects of Giant Growth or Hall of Triumph, will apply to it no matter when they started to take effect. The same is true for counters that change its power (such as +1/+1 counters) and effects that switch its power and toughness.
  • 2/25/2015: If you control a creature with power less than 0, use its actual power when calculating the total power of creatures you control. For example, if you control three creatures with powers 4, 5, and -2, the total power of creatures you control is 7.
  • 2/25/2015: Some formidable abilities are activated abilities that require creatures you control to have total power 8 or greater. Once you activate these abilities, it doesn’t matter what happens to the total power of creatures you control.
  • 2/25/2015: Other formidable abilities are triggered abilities with an “intervening ‘if’” clause. Such abilities check the total power of creatures you control twice: once at the appropriate time to see if the ability will trigger, and again as the ability tries to resolve. If, at that time, the total power of creatures you control is no longer 8 or greater, the ability will have no effect.
Comment:

Dragons of Tarkir

Printings:
#166 (Svetlin Velinov)

Editions:
English Dragons of Tarkir (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Krater-Elementar
French Élémental de cratère
Italian Elementale del Cratere
Spanish Elemental del cráter
Portuguese Elemental da Cratera
Japanese 火口の精霊
Simplified Chinese 山口元素
Russian Элементаль Кратера
Traditional Chinese 山口元素
Korean 분화구 정령


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Crater Elemental
View Decks with Crater Elemental
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.