Kytheon's Irregulars Prerelease Events Languish

Kytheon, Hero of Akros Kytheon, Hero of Akros English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 2/1, W (1)

At end of combat, if Kytheon, Hero of Akros and at least two other creatures attacked this combat, exile Kytheon, then return him to the battlefield transformed under his owner's control.

{2}{W}: Kytheon gains indestructible until end of turn.

Illus. Willian Murai

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/22/2015: Kytheon’s first ability will count creatures that attacked but are no longer on the battlefield (perhaps because they didn’t survive combat damage being dealt). It will not count any creatures that were put onto the battlefield attacking, as those creatures were never declared as attackers.
  • 6/22/2015: Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics: name, types, subtypes, power and toughness, loyalty, abilities, and so on. While a double-faced card is on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of the face that’s currently up. The other set of characteristics is ignored. While a double-faced card isn’t on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of its front face.
  • 6/22/2015: The converted mana cost of a double-faced card not on the battlefield is the converted mana cost of its front face.
  • 6/22/2015: The back face of a double-faced card doesn’t have a mana cost. A double-faced permanent with its back face up has a converted mana cost of 0. Each back face has a color indicator that defines its color.
  • 6/22/2015: The back face of a double-faced card (in the case of Magic Origins, the planeswalker face) can’t be cast.
  • 6/22/2015: Although the two rules are similar, the “legend rule” and the “planeswalker uniqueness rule” affect different kinds of permanents. You can control two of this permanent, one front face-up and the other back-face up at the same time. However, if the former is exiled and enters the battlefield transformed, you’ll then control two planeswalkers with the same subtype. You’ll choose one to remain on the battlefield, and the other will be put into its owner’s graveyard.
  • 6/22/2015: A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default, unless a spell or ability instructs you to put it onto the battlefield transformed, in which case it enters with its back face up.
  • 6/22/2015: A Magic Origins planeswalker that enters the battlefield because of the ability of its front face will enter with loyalty counters as normal.
  • 6/22/2015: In some rare cases, a spell or ability may cause one of these five cards to transform while it’s a creature (front face up) on the battlefield. If this happens, the resulting planeswalker won’t have any loyalty counters on it and will subsequently be put into its owner’s graveyard.
  • 6/22/2015: You can activate one of the planeswalker’s loyalty abilities the turn it enters the battlefield. However, you may do so only during one of your main phases when the stack is empty. For example, if the planeswalker enters the battlefield during combat, there will be an opportunity for your opponent to remove it before you can activate one of its abilities.
  • 6/22/2015: If a double-faced card is manifested, it will be put onto the battlefield face down (this is also true if it’s put onto the battlefield face down some other way). Note that “face down” is not synonymous with “with its back face up.” A manifested double-faced card is a 2/2 creature with no name, mana cost, creature types, or abilities. While face down, it can’t transform. If the front face of a manifested double-faced card is a creature card, you can turn it face up by paying its mana cost. If you do, its front face will be up. A double-faced card on the battlefield can’t be turned face down.
Comment:

Magic Origins

Printings:
#220 (Willian Murai)

Editions:
English Magic Origins (Mythic Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Kytheon, Held von Akros
French Kytheon, héros d'Akros
Italian Kytheon, Eroe di Akros
Spanish Kytheon, héroe de Akros
Portuguese Quiteon, Herói de Ácros
Japanese アクロスの英雄、キテオン
Simplified Chinese 阿喀洛斯英雄库忒昂
Russian Китеон, Герой Акроса
Traditional Chinese 阿喀洛斯英雄庫忒昂
Korean 아크로스의 영웅 키세온


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Kytheon, Hero of Akros
View Decks with Kytheon, Hero of Akros
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.