Blight Herder Prerelease Events Brood Butcher

Bring to Light Bring to Light English

Sorcery, 3UG (5)

Converge — Search your library for a creature, instant, or sorcery card with converted mana cost less than or equal to the number of colors of mana spent to cast Bring to Light, exile that card, then shuffle your library. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost.

Illus. Jonas De Ro

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: If you cast the exiled card, you do so as part of the resolution of Bring to Light. You can’t wait to cast it later in the turn. Timing restrictions based on the card’s type are ignored, but other restrictions (such as “Cast [this card] only during combat”) are not.
  • 8/25/2015: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs, such as awaken costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast the card.
  • 8/25/2015: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X.
  • 8/25/2015: If you cast an instant or sorcery card this way, it goes to your graveyard as normal. It doesn’t return to exile.
  • 8/25/2015: If you don’t cast the card, it remains exiled.
  • 8/25/2015: The maximum number of colors of mana you can spend to cast a spell is five. Colorless is not a color. Note that the cost of a spell with converge may limit how many colors of mana you can spend.
  • 8/25/2015: Unless a spell or ability allows you to, you can’t choose to pay more mana for a spell with a converge ability just to spend more colors of mana. Likewise, if a spell or ability reduces the amount of mana it costs you to cast a spell with converge, you can’t ignore that cost reduction in order to spend more colors of mana.
  • 8/25/2015: If there are any alternative or additional costs to cast a spell with a converge ability, the mana spent to pay those costs will count. For example, if an effect makes sorcery spells cost {1} more to cast, you could pay {W}{U}{B}{R} to cast Radiant Flames and deal 4 damage to each creature.
  • 8/25/2015: If you cast a spell with converge without spending any mana to cast it (perhaps because an effect allowed you to cast it without paying its mana cost), then the number of colors spent to cast it will be zero.
  • 8/25/2015: If a spell with a converge ability is copied, no mana was spent to cast the copy, so the number of colors of mana spent to cast the spell will be zero. The number of colors spent to cast the original spell is not copied.
Comment:

Battle for Zendikar

Printings:
#246 (Jonas De Ro)

Editions:
English Battle for Zendikar (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Ans Licht bringen
French Éclater au grand jour
Italian Portare alla Luce
Spanish Traer a la luz
Portuguese Trazer à Luz
Japanese 白日の下に
Simplified Chinese 得见天光
Russian Залить Светом
Traditional Chinese 得見天光
Korean 빛을 보다


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Bring to Light
View Decks with Bring to Light
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.