Endless One Prerelease Events Fathom Feeder

Exert Influence Exert Influence English

Sorcery, 4U (5)

Converge — Gain control of target creature if its power is less than or equal to the number of colors of mana spent to cast Exert Influence.

"I can't control its mind—I'm not even sure it has one. But I can dominate its will."

Illus. Magali Villeneuve

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: Check the creature’s power as Exert Influence resolves to see if it’s less than or equal to the number of colors spent to cast Exert Influence. If it’s greater, Exert Influence will finish resolving with no effect.
  • 8/25/2015: Once you’ve gained control of a creature with Exert Influence, it doesn’t matter what happens to its power. Raising it won’t cause the control-changing effect to end.
  • 8/25/2015: The maximum number of colors of mana you can spend to cast a spell is five. Colorless is not a color. Note that the cost of a spell with converge may limit how many colors of mana you can spend.
  • 8/25/2015: Unless a spell or ability allows you to, you can’t choose to pay more mana for a spell with a converge ability just to spend more colors of mana. Likewise, if a spell or ability reduces the amount of mana it costs you to cast a spell with converge, you can’t ignore that cost reduction in order to spend more colors of mana.
  • 8/25/2015: If there are any alternative or additional costs to cast a spell with a converge ability, the mana spent to pay those costs will count. For example, if an effect makes sorcery spells cost {1} more to cast, you could pay {W}{U}{B}{R} to cast Radiant Flames and deal 4 damage to each creature.
  • 8/25/2015: If you cast a spell with converge without spending any mana to cast it (perhaps because an effect allowed you to cast it without paying its mana cost), then the number of colors spent to cast it will be zero.
  • 8/25/2015: If a spell with a converge ability is copied, no mana was spent to cast the copy, so the number of colors of mana spent to cast the spell will be zero. The number of colors spent to cast the original spell is not copied.
Comment:

Battle for Zendikar

Printings:
#260 (Magali Villeneuve)

Editions:
English Battle for Zendikar (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Einfluss ausüben
French Exercice d'influence
Italian Esercitare Influenza
Spanish Influir
Portuguese Exercer Influência
Japanese 影響力の行使
Simplified Chinese 加以感化
Russian Проявление Влияния
Traditional Chinese 加以感化
Korean 영향력 행사


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Exert Influence
View Decks with Exert Influence
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.