Painful Truths Prerelease Events Planar Outburst

Part the Waterveil Part the Waterveil English

Sorcery, 4UU (6)

Take an extra turn after this one. Exile Part the Waterveil.

Awaken 6—{6}{U}{U}{U} (If you cast this spell for {6}{U}{U}{U}, also put six +1/+1 counters on target land you control and it becomes a 0/0 Elemental creature with haste. It's still a land.)

Illus. Titus Lunter

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: Exiling Part the Waterveil is part of its effect. If Part the Waterveil is countered, including if it was cast for its awaken cost and the land you control became an illegal target, it will be put into its owner’s graveyard.
  • 8/25/2015: You can cast a spell with awaken for its mana cost and get only its first effect. If you cast a spell for its awaken cost, you’ll get both effects.
  • 8/25/2015: If the non-awaken part of the spell requires a target, you must choose a legal target. You can’t cast the spell if you can’t choose a legal target for each instance of the word “target” (though you only need a legal target for the awaken ability if you’re casting the spell for its awaken cost).
  • 8/25/2015: If a spell with awaken has multiple targets (including the land you control), and some but not all of those targets become illegal by the time the spell tries to resolve, the spell won’t affect the illegal targets in any way.
  • 8/25/2015: If the non-awaken part of the spell doesn’t require a target and you cast the spell for its awaken cost, then the spell will be countered if the target land you control becomes illegal before the spell resolves (such as due to being destroyed in response to the spell being cast).
  • 8/25/2015: The land will retain any other types, subtypes, or supertypes it previously had. It will also retain any mana abilities it had as a result of those subtypes. For example, a Forest that’s turned into a creature this way can still be tapped for {G}.
  • 8/25/2015: Awaken doesn’t give the land you control a color. As most lands are colorless, in most cases the resulting land creature will also be colorless.
Comment:

Battle for Zendikar

Printings:
#282 (Titus Lunter)

Editions:
English Battle for Zendikar (Mythic Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Den Wasserschleier teilen
French Ouvrir le Voile d'Eau
Italian Aprire il Velo d'Acqua
Spanish Dividir el Velo Acuoso
Portuguese Repartir o Véu d'Água
Japanese 水の帳の分離
Simplified Chinese 分开水帘
Russian Разрыв Водяной Завесы
Traditional Chinese 分開水簾
Korean 물의 장막 가르기


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Part the Waterveil
View Decks with Part the Waterveil
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.