Devoid (This card has no color.)
Serpentine Spike deals 2 damage to target creature, 3 damage to another target creature, and 4 damage to a third target creature. If a creature dealt damage this way would die this turn, exile it instead.
Illus. Jaime Jones
Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?
- 8/25/2015: Each target must be a different creature. You can’t cast Serpentine Spike without three different creatures available.
- 8/25/2015: If one or two of those targets become illegal by the time Serpentine Spike resolves, you can’t change how much damage will be dealt to the remaining legal targets.
- 8/25/2015: A creature doesn’t necessarily have to be dealt lethal damage by Serpentine Spike to be exiled. After being dealt damage, if it would die for any reason that turn, it’ll be exiled instead.
- 8/25/2015: Cards with devoid use frames that are variations of the transparent frame traditionally used for Eldrazi. The top part of the card features some color over a background based on the texture of the hedrons that once imprisoned the Eldrazi. This coloration is intended to aid deckbuilding and game play.
- 8/25/2015: A card with devoid is just colorless. It’s not colorless and the colors of mana in its mana cost.
- 8/25/2015: Other cards and abilities can give a card with devoid color. If that happens, it’s just the new color, not that color and colorless.
- 8/25/2015: Devoid works in all zones, not just on the battlefield.
- 8/25/2015: If a card loses devoid, it will still be colorless. This is because effects that change an object’s color (like the one created by devoid) are considered before the object loses devoid.
- Legal in Vintage (Type 1)
- Legal in Legacy (Type 1.5)
- Legal in Standard (Type 2)
- Legal in Commander
- Legal in Modern
Battle for Zendikar
#291 (Jaime Jones)
Battle for Zendikar (Rare)
Prerelease Events (Special)
all prints in all languages