Smoldering Marsh Prerelease Events Sunken Hollow

Smothering Abomination Smothering Abomination English

Creature — Eldrazi 4/3, 2BB (4)

Devoid (This card has no color.)

Flying

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice a creature.

Whenever you sacrifice a creature, draw a card.

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/25/2015: You choose which creature you control to sacrifice as the first triggered ability resolves. Players can respond to this ability triggering, but once you choose a creature to sacrifice, it’s too late for anyone to respond.
  • 8/25/2015: If Smothering Abomination is the only creature you control as its first triggered ability resolves, you must sacrifice it.
  • 8/25/2015: Sacrificing Smothering Abomination will cause its last ability to trigger.
  • 8/25/2015: Cards with devoid use frames that are variations of the transparent frame traditionally used for Eldrazi. The top part of the card features some color over a background based on the texture of the hedrons that once imprisoned the Eldrazi. This coloration is intended to aid deckbuilding and game play.
  • 8/25/2015: A card with devoid is just colorless. It’s not colorless and the colors of mana in its mana cost.
  • 8/25/2015: Other cards and abilities can give a card with devoid color. If that happens, it’s just the new color, not that color and colorless.
  • 8/25/2015: Devoid works in all zones, not just on the battlefield.
  • 8/25/2015: If a card loses devoid, it will still be colorless. This is because effects that change an object’s color (like the one created by devoid) are considered before the object loses devoid.
Comment:

Battle for Zendikar

Printings:
#296 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English Battle for Zendikar (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Erdrückende Abscheulichkeit
French Abomination étouffante
Italian Abominio Asfissiante
Spanish Abominación asfixiante
Portuguese Abominação Sufocante
Japanese 息詰まる忌まわしきもの
Simplified Chinese 窒息憎恨体
Russian Мерзостный Душитель
Traditional Chinese 窒息憎恨體
Korean 숨막히는 흉물


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Smothering Abomination
View Decks with Smothering Abomination
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.