Lightning Greaves Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition Phyrexian Vault

Phyrexian Totem Phyrexian Totem English

Artifact, 3 (3)

{T}: Add {B} to your mana pool.

{2}{B}: Phyrexian Totem becomes a 5/5 black Horror artifact creature with trample until end of turn.

Whenever Phyrexian Totem is dealt damage, if it's a creature, sacrifice that many permanents.

Illus. John Zeleznik

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/25/2006: When damage is dealt to Phyrexian Totem, its triggered ability will trigger. A number of permanents equal to the amount of damage dealt will be sacrificed when the ability resolves. It doesn’t matter if Phyrexian Totem isn’t on the battlefield when the ability resolves, as long as Phyrexian Totem was a creature as it left the battlefield. If one of the permanents sacrificed is Phyrexian Totem itself, the requisite number of other permanents must still be sacrificed.
  • 8/1/2008: A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {tap} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of his or her most recent turn. It doesn’t matter how long the permanent has been a creature.
Printings:
#20 (John Zeleznik)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Uncommon)
English Time Spiral (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Phyrexianisches Totem
French Totem de Phyrexia
Italian Totem di Phyrexia
Spanish Tótem pirexiano
Portuguese Totem Phyrexiano
Japanese ファイレクシアのトーテム像
Simplified Chinese 非瑞克西亚图腾像
Russian Фирексийский Тотем


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Phyrexian Totem
View Decks with Phyrexian Totem
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.