Evasive Action Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition Fertile Ground

Tribal Flames Tribal Flames English

Sorcery, 1R (2)

Domain — Tribal Flames deals X damage to target creature or player, where X is the number of basic land types among lands you control.

"Fire is the universal language."
—Jhoira, master artificer

Illus. Tony Szczudlo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: To determine the number of basic land types among lands you control, look at the lands you have on the battlefield and ask yourself whether the subtypes Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest appear within that group. The number of times you say yes (topping out at five) tells you how powerful your domain abilities will be.
  • 2/1/2009: How many lands you control of a particular basic land type is irrelevant to a domain ability, as long as that number is greater than zero. As far as domain is concerned, ten Forests is the same as one Forest.
  • 2/1/2009: A number of nonbasic lands have basic land types. Domain abilities don't count the number of lands you control -- they count the number of basic land types among lands you control, even if that means checking the same land twice. For example, if you control a Tundra, an Overgrown Tomb, and a Madblind Mountain, you'll have a Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest among the lands you control. Your domain abilities will be maxed out.
Printings:
#51 (Tony Szczudlo)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Phyrexia vs. The Coalition (Common)
English Time Spiral "Timeshifted" (Special)
English Invasion (Common)

Languages:
German Stammesflammen
French Flammes tribales
Italian Fiamme Tribali
Spanish Flamas tribales
Portuguese Chamas Tribais
Japanese 部族の炎
Simplified Chinese 部族焰火
Russian Племенное Пламя


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Tribal Flames
View Decks with Tribal Flames
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.