Abrupt Decay Return to Ravnica Armada Wurm

Archon of the Triumvirate Archon of the Triumvirate English

Creature — Archon 4/5, 5WU (7)

Flying

Whenever Archon of the Triumvirate attacks, detain up to two target nonland permanents your opponents control. (Until your next turn, those permanents can't attack or block and their activated abilities can't be activated.)

Illus. David Rapoza

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2012: The two nonland permanents can be controlled by the same opponent or by different opponents.
  • 10/1/2012: The nonland permanents will be detained before blockers are chosen. Notably, a creature detained this way can't block before it is detained.
  • 4/15/2013: Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • 4/15/2013: The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
  • 4/15/2013: If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it's detained, it won't be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: If a permanent's activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • 4/15/2013: If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won't be able to attack or block.
  • 4/15/2013: When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.
Printings:
#142 (David Rapoza)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Rare)
English Prerelease Events (Special)

Languages:
German Archon des Triumvirats
French Archonte du Triumvirat
Italian Arconte del Triumvirato
Spanish Arconte del triunvirato
Portuguese Arconte do Triunvirato
Japanese 三巨頭の執政官
Simplified Chinese 三盟统领
Russian Архонт Триумвирата
Traditional Chinese 三盟統領
Korean 삼두정치의 집정관


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Archon of the Triumvirate
View Decks with Archon of the Triumvirate
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.