Clone Shell Scars of Mirrodin Contagion Engine

Contagion Clasp Contagion Clasp English

Artifact, 2 (2)

When Contagion Clasp enters the battlefield, put a -1/-1 counter on target creature.

{4}, {T}: Proliferate. (You choose any number of permanents and/or players with counters on them, then give each another counter of a kind already there.)

Illus. Anthony Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2011: You can choose any player that has a counter, including yourself.
  • 1/1/2011: You can choose any permanent that has a counter, including ones controlled by opponents. You can't choose cards in any zone other than the battlefield, even if they have counters on them, such as suspended cards or a Lightning Storm on the stack.
  • 1/1/2011: You don't have to choose every permanent or player that has a counter, only the ones you want to add another counter to. Since "any number" includes zero, you don't have to choose any permanents at all, and you don't have to choose any players at all.
  • 1/1/2011: If a permanent chosen this way has multiple kinds of counters on it, only a single new counter is put on that permanent.
  • 1/1/2011: Players can respond to the spell or ability whose effect includes proliferating. Once that spell or ability starts to resolve, however, and its controller chooses which permanents and players will get new counters, it's too late for anyone to respond.
  • 1/1/2011: Contagion Clasp's first ability is mandatory. If you're the only player who controls a creature, you must target one of them.
Printings:
#144 (Anthony Palumbo)

Editions:
English Scars of Mirrodin (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Elspeth vs. Tezzeret (Uncommon)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Infektionsschnalle
French Boucle de contagion
Italian Stretta Contagiosa
Spanish Broche de contagio
Portuguese Gancho de Contágio
Japanese 伝染病の留め金
Simplified Chinese 传染扣
Russian Пряжка Заражения
Traditional Chinese 傳染扣


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Contagion Clasp
View Decks with Contagion Clasp
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.