Demolish Zendikar Elemental Appeal

Electropotence Electropotence English

Enchantment, 2R (3)

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay {2}{R}. If you do, that creature deals damage equal to its power to target creature or player.

Where life and force collide.

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You target a creature or player when the ability triggers. You decide whether or not to pay {2}{R} as the ability resolves.
  • 10/1/2009: Once you decide to pay {2}{R}, it's too late for anyone to respond (such as by activating a regeneration ability the targeted creature has).
  • 10/1/2009: If you pay {2}{R}, the creature that entered the battlefield deals damage equal to its current power to the targeted creature or player. If it's no longer on the battlefield, its last known existence on the battlefield is checked to determine its power.
  • 10/1/2009: Electropotence is the source of the ability, but the creature is the source of the damage. The ability couldn't target a creature with protection from red, for example. It could target a creature with protection from creatures, but all the damage would be prevented. Since damage is dealt by the creature, lifelink, deathtouch, and wither are taken into account, even if the creature has left the battlefield by the time it deals damage.
Printings:
#122 (Christopher Moeller)

Editions:
English Zendikar (Rare)

Languages:
German Elektropotenz
French Électropuissance
Italian Elettropotenza
Spanish Electropotencia
Portuguese Eletropotência
Japanese 電撃力
Simplified Chinese 电流权能
Russian Электросила


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Electropotence
View Decks with Electropotence
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.