Dimir Aqueduct Planechase 2012 Edition Graypelt Refuge

Exotic Orchard Exotic Orchard English

Land

{T}: Add to your mana pool one mana of any color that a land an opponent controls could produce.

"It was a strange morning. When we awoke, we found our trees transformed. We didn't know whether to water them or polish them."
—Pulan, Bant orchardist

Illus. Steven Belledin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: The colors of mana are white, blue, black, red, and green. Exotic Orchard can't be tapped for colorless mana, even if a land an opponent controls could produce colorless mana.
  • 2/1/2009: Exotic Orchard checks the effects of all mana-producing abilities of lands your opponents control, but it doesn't check their costs. For example, Vivid Crag has the ability "{T}, Remove a charge counter from Vivid Crag: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool." If an opponent controls Vivid Crag and you control Exotic Orchard, you can tap Exotic Orchard for any color of mana. It doesn't matter whether Vivid Crag has a charge counter on it, and it doesn't matter whether it's untapped.
  • 2/1/2009: When determining what colors of mana your opponents' lands could produce, Exotic Orchard takes into account any applicable replacement effects that would apply to those lands' mana abilities (such as Contamination's effect, for example). If there are more than one, consider them in any possible order.
  • 2/1/2009: Exotic Orchard doesn't care about any restrictions or riders your opponents' lands (such as Ancient Ziggurat or Hall of the Bandit Lord) put on the mana they produce. It just cares about colors of mana.
  • 2/1/2009: Lands that produce mana based only on what other lands "could produce" won't help each other unless some other land allows one of them to actually produce some type of mana. For example, if you control an Exotic Orchard and your opponent controls an Exotic Orchard and a Reflecting Pool, none of those lands would produce mana if their mana abilities were activated. On the other hand, if you control a Forest and an Exotic Orchard, and your opponent controls an Exotic Orchard and a Reflecting Pool, then each of those lands can be tapped to produce {G}. Your opponent's Exotic Orchard can produce {G} because you control a Forest. Your Exotic Orchard and your opponent's Reflecting Pool can each produce {G} because your opponent's Exotic Orchard can produce {G}.
Printings:
#117 (Steven Belledin)

Editions:
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Rare)
English Conflux (Rare)

Languages:
German Exotischer Obstgarten
French Verger exotique
Italian Frutteto Esotico
Spanish Huerto exótico
Portuguese Pomar Exótico
Japanese 風変わりな果樹園
Simplified Chinese 异国果园
Russian Экзотический Сад


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Exotic Orchard
View Decks with Exotic Orchard
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.