Glassdust Hulk Alara Reborn Offering to Asha

Meddling Mage Meddling Mage English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, WU (2)

As Meddling Mage enters the battlefield, name a nonland card.

The named card can't be cast.

"This violent wasteland is an indictment of its people. These cowards lack the will to oppose disorder."

Illus. Todd Lockwood

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Meddling Mage's ability starts to work.
  • 5/1/2009: Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Meddling Mage enters the battlefield are not affected by Meddling Mage's ability.
  • 5/1/2009: Although the named card can't be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it's a permanent card).
  • 5/1/2009: You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected.
  • 5/1/2009: If a card with morph is named, that card may still be cast face down. Face-down cards have no names.
  • 5/1/2009: Some cards (such as Isochron Scepter, for example) let you cast a copy of a card. A copy of a card isn't actually a card, so Meddling Mage can't stop this.
  • 5/1/2009: Once Meddling Mage leaves the battlefield, the named card can be cast again.
Printings:
#8 (Todd Lockwood)

Editions:
English Alara Reborn (Rare)
English Planeshift (Rare)
English Judge Gift Program (Special)

Languages:
German Herumpfuschender Magier
French Ingérence du mage
Italian Mago Intrigante
Spanish Mago entrometido
Portuguese Mago Interferidor
Japanese 翻弄する魔道士
Simplified Chinese 扰咒法师
Russian Вмешивающаяся Волшебница


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Meddling Mage
View Decks with Meddling Mage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.