Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur New Phyrexia Mindculling

Mental Misstep Mental Misstep English

Instant, {UP} (1)

({UP} can be paid with either {U} or 2 life.)

Counter target spell with converted mana cost 1.

"Your first mistake was thinking I would let you live long enough to make a second."
—Sarnvax, Gitaxian sective

Illus. Erica Yang

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2011: A card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its mana cost is each color that appears in that mana cost, regardless of how that cost may have been paid.
  • 6/1/2011: To calculate the converted mana cost of a card with Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, count each Phyrexian mana symbol as 1.
  • 6/1/2011: As you cast a spell or activate an activated ability with one or more Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost, you choose how to pay for each Phyrexian mana symbol at the same time you would choose modes or choose a value for X.
  • 6/1/2011: If you’re at 1 life or less, you can’t pay 2 life.
  • 6/1/2011: Phyrexian mana is not a new color. Players can’t add Phyrexian mana to their mana pools.
  • 6/1/2011: If a spell has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be the value chosen for it while that spell is on the stack.
  • 6/1/2011: Each Phyrexian mana symbol in a spell’s mana cost contributes 1 to that spell’s converted mana cost. For example, Mental Misstep’s converted mana cost is 1, regardless of how its cost was paid.
  • Banned in Legacy (Type 1.5)
  • Banned in Extended (Type 1.X)
  • Banned in Modern
Printings:
#38 (Erica Yang)

Editions:
English New Phyrexia (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Mentaler Fehltritt
French Faux-pas mental
Italian Passo Falso Mentale
Spanish Tropiezo mental
Portuguese Lapso Mental
Japanese 精神的つまづき
Simplified Chinese 心灵失足
Russian Неверный Ход Мысли
Traditional Chinese 心靈失足


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Mental Misstep
View Decks with Mental Misstep
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.