Merfolk Wayfinder Zendikar Paralyzing Grasp

Mindbreak Trap Mindbreak Trap English

Instant — Trap, 2UU (4)

If an opponent cast three or more spells this turn, you may pay {0} rather than pay Mindbreak Trap's mana cost.

Exile any number of target spells.

"Life is a maze. This is one of its dead ends."
—Noyan Dar, Tazeem lullmage

Illus. Christopher Moeller

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You may ignore a Trap’s alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 10/1/2009: Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn’t change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 10/1/2009: Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 10/1/2009: Mindbreak Trap’s alternative cost condition checks whether an opponent cast three or more spells this turn, not whether those spells have resolved.
  • 10/1/2009: If a spell is exiled, it’s removed from the stack and thus will not resolve. The spell isn’t countered; it just no longer exists. This works on spells that can’t be countered, such as Terra Stomper.
Printings:
#57 (Christopher Moeller)

Editions:
English Zendikar (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Überforderungs-Falle
French Piège brisesprit
Italian Trappola Rompicapo
Spanish Trampa rompemente
Portuguese Armadilha Quebra-Mente
Japanese 精神壊しの罠
Simplified Chinese 歼智陷阱
Russian Мозголомная Западня


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Mindbreak Trap
View Decks with Mindbreak Trap
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.