Izzet Keyrune Return to Ravnica Rakdos Keyrune

Pithing Needle Pithing Needle English

Artifact, 1 (1)

As Pithing Needle enters the battlefield, name a card.

Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

The fearful want the procedure before a blood festival. The guilty seek it afterward.

Illus. Anthony Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/1/2005: Pithing Needle affects cards regardless of what zone they're in. This includes cards in hand, cards in the graveyard, and exiled cards. For example, a player can't cycle Eternal Dragon or return an Eternal Dragon from his or her graveyard to hand if Pithing Needle naming Eternal Dragon is on the battlefield.
  • 6/1/2005: You can name any card, even if that card doesn't normally have an activated ability. You can't name a token unless that token has the same name as a card.
  • 6/1/2005: If you name a card that has both a mana ability and another activated ability, the mana ability can be activated but the other ability can't be activated.
  • 10/1/2009: Once Pithing Needle has left the battlefield, activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can be activated again.
  • 10/1/2012: Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” Triggered abilities and static abilities of the named card work normally.
Printings:
#231 (Anthony Palumbo)

Editions:
English Return to Ravnica (Rare)
English Magic 2010 (Rare)
English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Saviors of Kamigawa (Rare)

Languages:
German Lähmungsnadel
French Aiguille à sectionner
Italian Ago Spinale
Spanish Aguja medular
Portuguese Agulha Medular
Japanese 真髄の針
Simplified Chinese 穿髓金针
Russian Смертельная Игла
Traditional Chinese 穿髓金針
Korean 연수에 꽂는 바늘


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Pithing Needle
View Decks with Pithing Needle
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.