Reckless Brute Magic 2013 Rummaging Goblin

Reverberate Reverberate English

Instant, RR (2)

Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

"Not bad, but I can think of a better use for that."

Illus. jD

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: Reverberate can target (and copy) any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets. It doesn't matter who controls it.
  • 8/15/2010: When Reverberate resolves, it creates a copy of a spell. You control the copy. That copy is created on the stack, so it's not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. The copy will then resolve like a normal spell, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities.
  • 8/15/2010: The copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 8/15/2010: If the spell Reverberate copies is modal (that is, it says "Choose one --" or the like), the copy will have the same mode. You can't choose a different one.
  • 8/15/2010: If the spell Reverberate copies has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Earthquake does), the copy has the same value of X.
  • 8/15/2010: You can't choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy too. For example, if a player sacrifices a 3/3 creature to cast Fling, and you copy it with Reverberate, the copy of Fling will also deal 3 damage to its target.
  • 8/15/2010: If the copy says that it affects "you," it affects the controller of the copy, not the controller of the original spell. Similarly, if the copy says that it affects an "opponent," it affects an opponent of the copy's controller, not an opponent of the original spell's controller.
Printings:
#145 (jD)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Rare)
English Magic 2012 (Rare)
English Premium Deck Series: Fire and Lightning (Rare)
English Magic 2011 (Rare)

Languages:
German Nachhallen
French Réverbérer
Italian Riverberare
Spanish Reverberar
Portuguese Reverberar
Japanese 余韻
Simplified Chinese 令其回响
Russian Реверберация
Traditional Chinese 令其回響
Korean 반향


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Reverberate
View Decks with Reverberate
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.