Selesnya Guildmage Commander Simic Sky Swallower

Sigil Captain Sigil Captain English

Creature — Rhino Soldier 3/3, 1WWG (4)

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, if that creature is 1/1, put two +1/+1 counters on it.

"One sigil awarded for valor, the other awarded for surviving Hellkite's Pass."

Illus. Howard Lyon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2009: Sigil Captain’s ability has an “intervening ‘if’ clause.” That means (1) the ability won’t trigger at all unless the creature that enters the battlefield under your control is 1/1, and (2) the ability will do nothing unless that creature is still 1/1 at the time the ability resolves.
  • 5/1/2009: For that reason, two Sigil Captains don’t work well together. When a 1/1 creature enters the battlefield under your control, the abilities of both Sigil Captains will trigger. When the first resolves, two +1/+1 counters are put on the 1/1 creature. When the second resolves, it will do nothing because the creature that entered the battlefield is now 3/3.
  • 5/1/2009: Sigil Captain’s ability checks a creature’s initial power and toughness upon being put on the battlefield, so it will take into account counters that it enters the battlefield with and static abilities that may give it a continuous power boost once it’s on the battlefield (such as the one on Glorious Anthem). After the creature is already on the battlefield, changing its power and toughness to 1/1 with a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability won’t allow this ability to trigger; it’s too late by then.
  • 5/1/2009: If, for some reason, Sigil Captain enters the battlefield as a 1/1 creature (due to a pair of Engineered Plagues, for example), it will cause its own ability to trigger.
Printings:
#225 (Howard Lyon)

Editions:
English Commander (Uncommon)
English Alara Reborn (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Siegelverzierter Hauptmann
French Capitaine aux sigilles
Italian Capitano dei Sigilli
Spanish Capitán del sello
Portuguese Capitão da Insígnia
Japanese 印章の隊長
Simplified Chinese 印记队长
Russian Капитан, Раздающий Медали


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sigil Captain
View Decks with Sigil Captain
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.