Oran-Rief Recluse Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska Stonefare Crocodile

Spawnwrithe Spawnwrithe English

Creature — Elemental 2/2, 2G (3)

Trample

Whenever Spawnwrithe deals combat damage to a player, put a token that's a copy of Spawnwrithe onto the battlefield.

Its victims feel only an itchy, wriggling feeling just under their skin. By then, it's far too late.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: As the token is created, it checks the printed values of the Spawnwrithe it’s copying -- or, if the Spawnwrithe whose ability triggered was itself a token, the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield -- as well as any copy effects that have been applied to it. It won’t copy counters on the Spawnwrithe, nor will it copy other effects that have changed Spawnwrithe’s power, toughness, types, color, or so on. Normally, this means the token will simply be a Spawnwrithe. But if any copy effects have affected that Spawnwrithe, they’re taken into account.
  • 5/1/2008: If Spawnwrithe’s ability triggers, then Spawnwrithe becomes a copy of another creature before its ability resolves (due to Mirrorweave, perhaps), the token will be a copy of whatever creature the Spawnwrithe is currently a copy of. At the end of the turn, Spawnwrithe will revert back to what it was, but the token will stay as it is.
  • 5/1/2008: If a copy effect such as Mirrorweave causes some other creature to become a copy of Spawnwrithe, then that creature deals combat damage to a player, the token that’s put onto the battlefield is simply a copy of Spawnwrithe.
  • 5/1/2008: A token created by a Cemetery Puca that’s copying a Spawnwrithe will be a Spawnwrithe with the Cemetery Puca ability.
Printings:
#55 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska (Rare)
English Commander (Rare)
English Shadowmoor (Rare)

Languages:
German Schlängelnder Ablaicher
French Amphybane
Italian Serpifero
Spanish Engendro serpenteante
Portuguese Serpentóide
Japanese 落とし悶え
Simplified Chinese 盘蛇灵
Russian Плодящийся Червь
Traditional Chinese Spawnwrithe


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Spawnwrithe
View Decks with Spawnwrithe
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.