Rivals' Duel Planechase Anthology Thunder-Thrash Elder

Thorn-Thrash Viashino Thorn-Thrash Viashino English

Creature — Viashino Warrior 2/2, 3R (4)

Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

{G}: Thorn-Thrash Viashino gains trample until end of turn.

Illus. Jon Foster

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can’t be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can’t devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can’t devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one’s devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can’t sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
Printings:
#52 (Jon Foster)

Editions:
English Planechase Anthology (Common)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Shards of Alara (Common)

Languages:
German Viashino der Dornenbande
French Viashino rosse-épine
Italian Viashino di Batosta Spinosa
Spanish Viashino de la azotada de espinas
Portuguese Viashino Surrador-do-Espinho
Japanese 茨団のヴィーアシーノ
Simplified Chinese 荆击族凡尔西诺
Russian Виашино Шипастой Стаи


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Thorn-Thrash Viashino
View Decks with Thorn-Thrash Viashino
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.