Tinker From the Vault: Exiled

Trinisphere Trinisphere English

Artifact, 3 (3)

As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast. (Additional mana in the cost may be paid with any color of mana or colorless mana. For example, a spell that would cost {1}{B} to cast costs {2}{B} to cast instead.)

Designed to restrain petty thoughts, but used to repress entire empires.

Illus. Tim Hildebrandt

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 12/1/2004: Trinisphere's ability affects the total cost of the spell. It is applied *after* any other cost increasers or cost reducers are applied: First apply any cost increases. Next apply any cost reducers. Finally look at the amount of mana you have to pay. If it's less than three mana, you'll pay three mana.
  • 12/1/2004: Even with a cost reducer on the battlefield, spells can't cost less than three mana to cast.
  • 12/1/2004: If a spell costs at least three mana due to additional costs, such as kicker costs, that's fine.
  • 12/1/2004: You still need to pay any additional nonmana costs the spell has, such as sacrificing a creature or discarding cards.
  • 12/1/2004: Casting a creature with morph face down already costs three mana, even though the converted mana cost of the face-down spell is zero, so Trinisphere normally doesn't modify the total cost of a face-down creature spell. However, if Dream Chisel is reducing that cost while Trinisphere is on the battlefield, you'll still have to pay three mana for the spell.
  • Restricted in Vintage (Type 1)
  • Restricted in Classic (MTGO)
Printings:
#15 (Tim Hildebrandt)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Exiled (Mythic Rare)
English Darksteel (Rare)

Languages:
German Trinisphäre
French Trinisphère
Italian Trinisfera
Spanish Triniesfera
Portuguese Trinesfera
Japanese 三なる宝球
Simplified Chinese 三定法球


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Trinisphere
View Decks with Trinisphere
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.