Bonehoard Commander 2016 Chromatic Lantern

Cauldron of Souls Cauldron of Souls English

Artifact, 5 (5)

{T}: Choose any number of target creatures. Each of those creatures gains persist until end of turn. (When it dies, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a -1/-1 counter on it.)

Illus. Ron Brown

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: If a nontoken creature that gains persist this way is put into a graveyard, that card will be returned to the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter on it. However, because it’s a new object with no relation to its previous existence, the returned creature will not have persist.
  • 6/7/2013: If a creature with persist stops being a creature, persist will still work.
  • 6/7/2013: The persist ability triggers when the permanent is put into a graveyard. Its last known information (that is, how the creature last existed on the battlefield) is used to determine whether it had a -1/-1 counter on it.
  • 6/7/2013: If a permanent has multiple instances of persist, they’ll each trigger separately, but the redundant instances will have no effect. If one instance returns the card to the battlefield, the next to resolve will do nothing.
  • 6/7/2013: If a token with no -1/-1 counters on it has persist, the ability will trigger when the token is put into the graveyard. However, the token will cease to exist and can’t return to the battlefield.
  • 6/7/2013: When a permanent with persist returns to the battlefield, it’s a new object with no memory of or connection to its previous existence.
  • 6/7/2013: If multiple creatures with persist are put into the graveyard at the same time (due to combat damage or a spell that destroys all creatures, for example), the active player (the player whose turn it is) puts all of his or her persist triggers on the stack in any order, then each other player in turn order does the same. The last trigger put on the stack is the first one that resolves. That means that in a two-player game, the nonactive player’s persist creatures will return to the battlefield first, then the active player’s persist creatures do the same. The creatures return to the battlefield one at a time.
  • 6/7/2013: If a creature with persist that has +1/+1 counters on it receives enough -1/-1 counters to cause it to be destroyed by lethal damage or put into its owner’s graveyard for having 0 or less toughness, persist won’t trigger and the card won’t return to the battlefield. That’s because persist checks the creature’s existence just before it leaves the battlefield, and it still has all those counters on it at that point.
Printings:
#246 (Ron Brown)

Editions:
English Commander 2016 (Rare)
English Shadowmoor (Rare)

Languages:
German Kessel der Seelen
French Chaudron des âmes
Italian Calderone delle Anime
Spanish Caldero de almas
Portuguese Caldeirão de Almas
Japanese 魂の大鍋
Simplified Chinese 灵魂鼎镬
Russian Котел Душ
Traditional Chinese Cauldron of Souls


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cauldron of Souls
View Decks with Cauldron of Souls
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.