Heartless Summoning Innistrad Manor Skeleton

Liliana of the Veil Liliana of the Veil English

Planeswalker — Liliana (Loyalty: 3), 1BB (3)

+1: Each player discards a card.

-2: Target player sacrifices a creature.

-6: Separate all permanents target player controls into two piles. That player sacrifices all permanents in the pile of his or her choice.

Illus. Steve Argyle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: When the first ability resolves, first you choose a card to discard, then each other player in turn order chooses a card to discard, then all those cards are discarded simultaneously. No one sees what the other players are discarding before deciding which card to discard.
  • 9/22/2011: The player targeted by the second ability chooses which creature to sacrifice when the ability resolves. This ability doesn't target any creature.
  • 9/22/2011: When the third ability resolves, you put each permanent the player controls into one of the two piles. For example, you could put a creature into one pile and an Aura enchanting that creature into the other pile.
  • 9/22/2011: A pile can be empty. If the player chooses an empty pile, no permanents will be sacrificed.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#105 (Steve Argyle)

Editions:
English Innistrad (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Liliana mit Schleier
French Liliana du voile
Italian Liliana del Velo
Spanish Liliana del Velo
Portuguese Liliana do Véu
Japanese ヴェールのリリアナ
Simplified Chinese 面纱的莉莲娜
Russian Лилиана с Завесой
Traditional Chinese 面紗的莉蓮娜


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Liliana of the Veil
View Decks with Liliana of the Veil
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.