The Dark dk/en

Italiano L'Oscurità  
next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-100 ] [ 101-119 ] 119 cards

Ashes to Ashes Ashes to Ashes English

Sorcery, 1BB (3)

Exile two target nonartifact creatures. Ashes to Ashes deals 5 damage to you.

"All rivers eventually run to the sea. My job is to sort out who goes first."
—Maeveen O'Donagh, Memoirs of a Soldier

Illus. Drew Tucker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If one of the targeted creatures is an illegal target by the time Ashes to Ashes resolves, it still exiles the other one and deals 5 damage to you.
  • 10/1/2009: If both of the targeted creatures are illegal targets by the time Ashes to Ashes resolves, it's countered. It doesn't deal 5 damage to you.
Printings:
#1 (Drew Tucker)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Uncommon)
English Fourth Edition (Uncommon)
English The Dark (Common (C3))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Asche zu Asche
French Des cendres aux cendres
Italian Cenere alla Cenere
Spanish Cenizas a las cenizas
Portuguese Cinzas às Cinzas


all prints in all languages

Banshee Banshee English

Creature — Spirit 0/1, 2BB (4)

{X}, {T}: Banshee deals half X damage, rounded down, to target creature or player, and half X damage, rounded up, to you.

Some say Banshees are the hounds of Death, baying to herd their prey into the arms of their master.

Illus. Jesper Myrfors

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If the targeted creature or player is an illegal target by the time Banshee's ability resolves, the ability is countered. You won't be dealt damage.
Printings:
#2 (Jesper Myrfors)

Editions:
English Chronicles (Uncommon (U3))
English The Dark (Rare (U2))
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Uncommon)

Languages:
Italian Banshee


all prints in all languages

Bog Imp Bog Imp English

Creature — Imp 1/1, 1B (2)

Flying (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with flying or reach.)

On guard for larger dangers, we underestimated the power and speed of the Imp's muck-crusted claws.

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#3 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Ninth Edition (Common)
English Eighth Edition (Common)
English Seventh Edition (Common)
English Starter 1999 (Common)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Common)
English Portal (Common)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Introductory Two-Player Set (Special)
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English The Dark (Common (C3))

Languages:
German Torfbold
French Diablotin des marécages
Italian Demonietto delle Paludi
Spanish Diablillo del pantano
Portuguese Diabrete do Pântano
Japanese 沼インプ
Simplified Chinese 腐沼小恶魔
Russian Болотный бес
Traditional Chinese 腐沼小惡魔
Korean 진창의 임프


all prints in all languages

Bog Rats Bog Rats English

Creature — Rat 1/1, B (1)

Bog Rats can't be blocked by Walls.

Their stench was vile and strong enough, but not nearly as powerful as their hunger.

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#4 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Classic Sixth Edition (Common)
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Chronicles (Common (C3))
English The Dark (Common (C3))

Languages:
German Moorratten
French Rats des marécages
Italian Topi delle Paludi
Spanish Ratas de la ciénaga
Portuguese Ratos do Pântano


all prints in all languages

Curse Artifact Curse Artifact English

Enchantment — Aura, 2BB (4)

Enchant artifact

At the beginning of the upkeep of enchanted artifact's controller, Curse Artifact deals 2 damage to that player unless he or she sacrifices that artifact.

Voska feared the artifact had come too easily.

Illus. Mark Tedin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#5 (Mark Tedin)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U2))

Languages:
Italian Maledici Artefatto


all prints in all languages

Eater of the Dead Eater of the Dead English

Creature — Horror 3/4, 4B (5)

{0}: If Eater of the Dead is tapped, exile target creature card from a graveyard and untap Eater of the Dead.

Even the putrid muscles of the dead can provide strength to those loathsome enough to consume them.

Illus. Jesper Myrfors

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: It untaps during the resolution of its ability.
  • 9/16/2007: You can activate the ability whether or not Eater of the Dead is tapped. However, if Eater of the Dead is untapped when the ability resolves, the ability won't do anything.
  • 4/1/2008: A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.
Printings:
#6 (Jesper Myrfors)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U2))
English MTGO Masters Edition (Uncommon)

Languages:
Italian Divoratore di Morti


all prints in all languages

Frankenstein's Monster Frankenstein's Monster English

Creature — Zombie 0/1, XBB (2)

As Frankenstein's Monster enters the battlefield, exile X creature cards from your graveyard. If you can't, put Frankenstein's Monster into its owner's graveyard instead of onto the battlefield. For each creature card exiled this way, Frankenstein's Monster enters the battlefield with a +2/+0, +1/+1, or +0/+2 counter on it.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: X can be any number and it does not have to match the total contents of your graveyard.
  • 4/1/2008: A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.
Printings:
#7 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
Italian Mostro di Frankenstein


all prints in all languages

Grave Robbers Grave Robbers English

Creature — Human Rogue 1/1, 1BB (3)

{B}, {T}: Exile target artifact card from a graveyard. You gain 2 life.

"If you don't have your health, you don't have anything." —Proverb

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If the target is not there on resolution, you do not gain the life.
  • 10/4/2004: This exiles the artifact on resolution, but you choose it as a target when activating the ability.
Printings:
#8 (Quinton Hoover)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
Italian Profanatori di Tombe


all prints in all languages

Inquisition Inquisition English

Sorcery, 2B (3)

Target player reveals his or her hand. Inquisition deals damage to that player equal to the number of white cards in his or her hand.

Many of those entrusted to Primata Delphine's care tended to express themselves with screams.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2014: If you target yourself with this spell, you must reveal your entire hand to the other players just as any other player would.
Printings:
#9 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English The Dark (Common (C3))

Languages:
Italian Inquisizione


all prints in all languages

Marsh Gas Marsh Gas English

Instant, B (1)

All creatures get -2/-0 until end of turn.

"Comes right outta th' ground. If ya can smell it, it's too late." —Keevy Bogsbury

Illus. Douglas Shuler

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#10 (Douglas Shuler)

Editions:
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English The Dark (Common (C3))

Languages:
German Sumpfgas
French Gaz des marais
Italian Gas degli Acquitrini
Spanish Gas de los pantanos
Portuguese Gás do Pântano


all prints in all languages

Murk Dwellers Murk Dwellers English

Creature — Zombie 2/2, 3B (4)

Whenever Murk Dwellers attacks and isn't blocked, it gets +2/+0 until end of combat.

When Raganorn unsealed the catacombs, he found more than the dead and their treasures.

Illus. Drew Tucker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: An ability that triggers when something "attacks and isn't blocked" triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.
Printings:
#11 (Drew Tucker)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Introductory Two-Player Set (Special)
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English The Dark (Common (C3))

Languages:
German Bewohner der Dunkelheit
French Habitants des ténèbres
Italian Abitatori del Buio
Spanish Moradores de las tinieblas
Portuguese Habitantes das Trevas


all prints in all languages

Nameless Race Nameless Race English

Creature */*, 3B (4)

Trample

As Nameless Race enters the battlefield, pay any amount of life. The amount you pay can't be more than the total number of white nontoken permanents your opponents control plus the total number of white cards in their graveyards.

Nameless Race's power and toughness are each equal to the life paid as it entered the battlefield.

Illus. Quinton Hoover

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability, you pay life during the resolution of that spell or ability.
  • 10/4/2004: The life payment is made just as the card is being put onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2007: This currently has no creature type. It's Nameless.
Printings:
#12 (Quinton Hoover)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
Italian Razza Senza Nome


all prints in all languages

Rag Man Rag Man English

Creature — Human Minion 2/1, 2BB (4)

{B}{B}{B}, {T}: Target opponent reveals his or her hand and discards a creature card at random. Activate this ability only during your turn.

"Aw, he's just a silly, dirty little man. What's to be afraid of?"

Illus. Daniel Gelon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#13 (Daniel Gelon)

Editions:
English Seventh Edition (Rare)
English Classic Sixth Edition (Rare)
English Fifth Edition (Rare)
English Fourth Edition (Rare)
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
German Lumpensammler
French Loqueteux
Italian L'Uomo di Stracci
Spanish Pordiosero
Portuguese Trapeiro


all prints in all languages

Season of the Witch Season of the Witch English

Enchantment, BBB (3)

At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Season of the Witch unless you pay 2 life.

At the beginning of the end step, destroy all untapped creatures that didn't attack this turn, except for creatures that couldn't attack.

Illus. Jesper Myrfors

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2013: At the beginning of every end step, regardless of whose turn it is, the second ability triggers. When it resolves every creature that could have been declared as an attacker during that turn's Declare Attackers Step but wasn't will be destroyed.
  • 9/20/2013: A creature won't be destroyed if it was unable to attack that turn, even if you had a way to enable it to attack. For example, a creature that had summoning sickness wouldn't be destroyed even if you had a way to give it haste.
Printings:
#14 (Jesper Myrfors)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
Italian La Stagione della Strega


all prints in all languages

The Fallen The Fallen English

Creature — Zombie 2/3, 1BBB (4)

At the beginning of your upkeep, The Fallen deals 1 damage to each opponent it has dealt damage to this game.

Magic often masters those who cannot master it.

Illus. Jesper Myrfors

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: It stops damaging players and forgets which players it damaged when it leaves the battlefield.
  • 9/16/2007: If The Fallen phases out and back in, it remembers which players it has dealt damage to this game.
  • 9/16/2007: The Fallen's ability causes it to deal damage only to opponents of its current controller. If The Fallen has dealt damage to you, and then you gain control of it, you won't be damaged during your upkeep.
  • 9/16/2007: The effect isn't cumulative. When it resolves, The Fallen deals 1 damage to each opponent previously dealt damage by it, regardless of how many times The Fallen dealt damage to that opponent before.
Printings:
#15 (Jesper Myrfors)

Editions:
English Chronicles (Uncommon (U3))
English The Dark (Rare (U2))
English MTGO Masters Edition (Uncommon)

Languages:
Italian L'Invasato


all prints in all languages

Uncle Istvan Uncle Istvan English

Creature — Human 1/3, 1BBB (4)

Prevent all damage that would be dealt to Uncle Istvan by creatures.

Solitude drove the old hermit insane. Now he only keeps company with those he can catch.

Illus. Daniel Gelon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Works even on damage from activated abilities of creatures such as Prodigal Sorcerer.
Printings:
#16 (Daniel Gelon)

Editions:
English Time Spiral "Timeshifted" (Special)
English Fourth Edition (Uncommon)
English The Dark (Rare (U2))

Languages:
German Onkel Istvan
French Oncle Istvân
Italian Zio Istvan
Spanish Tío Istvan
Portuguese Tio Istvan
Japanese イシュトヴァーンおじ
Simplified Chinese 尹曼叔叔
Russian Дядька Иштван


all prints in all languages

Word of Binding Word of Binding English

Sorcery, XBB (2)

Tap X target creatures.

"That was the worst experience of my days, standing there helpless as they killed my whole troop." —Maeveen O'Donagh, Memoirs of a Soldier

Illus. Ron Spencer

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#17 (Ron Spencer)

Editions:
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English The Dark (Common (C3))

Languages:
German Wort der Fesselung
French Mot d'entraves
Italian Vincolo
Spanish Palabras de poder
Portuguese Palavras de Poder


all prints in all languages

Worms of the Earth Worms of the Earth English

Enchantment, 2BBB (5)

Players can't play lands.

Lands can't enter the battlefield.

At the beginning of each upkeep, any player may sacrifice two lands or have Worms of the Earth deal 5 damage to him or her. If a player does either, destroy Worms of the Earth.

The ground collapsed, leaving nothing but the great Worms' mucous residues.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Land can't enter the battlefield, so an effect that "puts a land onto the battlefield" won't do anything, and the land will stay where it is.
  • 10/4/2004: If you cast a spell or activate an ability that lets you put a land onto the battlefield, the effect fails. You'll still do everything else the spell or ability tells you to do, such as shuffle the library.
  • 5/1/2006: In Two-Headed Giant, triggers only once per upkeep, not once for each player.
  • 8/1/2008: If a permanent spell tries to enter the battlefield as a land during its resolution (for instance, a Clone entering the battlefield as a copy of a Dryad Arbor or an animated Mutavault), it is put into its owner's graveyard instead of entering the battlefield. It never enters the battlefield, so abilities that would have triggered on it entering the battlefield won't trigger.
Printings:
#18 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U1))

Languages:
Italian Vermi della Terra


all prints in all languages

Amnesia Amnesia English

Sorcery, 3UUU (6)

Target player reveals his or her hand and discards all nonland cards.

"When one has witnessed the unspeakable, 'tis sometimes better to forget." —Vervamon the Elder

Illus. Mark Poole

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2014: If you target yourself with this spell, you must reveal your entire hand to the other players just as any other player would.
Printings:
#19 (Mark Poole)

Editions:
English The Dark (Rare (U2))
English MTGO Masters Edition (Rare)

Languages:
Italian Amnesia


all prints in all languages

Apprentice Wizard Apprentice Wizard English

Creature — Human Wizard 0/1, 1UU (3)

{U}, {T}: Add {3} to your mana pool.

Illus. Dan Frazier

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#20 (Dan Frazier)

Editions:
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English The Dark (Rare (U1))
English MTGO Masters Edition (Common)

Languages:
German Zauberlehrling
French Apprenti sorcier
Italian Apprendista Stregone
Spanish Aprendiz de brujo
Portuguese Aprendiz de Mago


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-60 ] [ 61-80 ] [ 81-100 ] [ 101-119 ] 119 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.