Dark Ascension dka/en

Deutsch Dunkles Erwachen   Français Obscure ascension   Italiano Ascesa Oscura   Español Ascenso siniestro   Português Ascensão das Trevas   日本語 闇の隆盛  
简体中文 黑影笼罩   Русский Возвышение Мрака   繁體中文 黑影籠罩   한국어 어둠의 강림  
next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 161-171 ] 171 cards

Archangel's Light Archangel's Light English

Sorcery, 7W (8)

You gain 2 life for each card in your graveyard, then shuffle your graveyard into your library.

"This is the light of Avacyn. Even in her absence she offers us hope."
—Radulf, priest of Avacyn

Illus. Volkan Baga

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Archangel’s Light isn’t put into the graveyard until after its instructions are followed. You won’t gain 2 life for it, and it won’t be shuffled into your library.
  • 1/22/2011: If you have no cards in your graveyard, you won’t gain any life, but you’ll still shuffle your library.
Printings:
#1 (Volkan Baga)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Licht des Erzengels
French Lumière de l'archange
Italian Luce dell'Arcangelo
Spanish Luz del arcángel
Portuguese Luz do Arcanjo
Japanese 大天使の光
Simplified Chinese 大天使恩光
Russian Свет Архангела
Traditional Chinese 大天使恩光
Korean 대천사의 광명


all prints in all languages

Bar the Door Bar the Door English

Instant, 2W (3)

Creatures you control get +0/+4 until end of turn.

"It may not look like much, but it's a good old door with strong wards. It'll hold."
—Olgard of the Skiltfolk

Illus. Ryan Pancoast

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#2 (Ryan Pancoast)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Die Tür verrammeln
French Barricadez la porte !
Italian Sprangare La Porta
Spanish Bloquear la puerta
Portuguese Barrar a Porta
Japanese 扉に閂
Simplified Chinese 闩住大门
Russian Запереть на Засов
Traditional Chinese 閂住大門
Korean 문 걸어잠그기


all prints in all languages

Break of Day Break of Day English

Instant, 1W (2)

Creatures you control get +1/+1 until end of turn.

Fateful hour — If you have 5 or less life, those creatures gain indestructible until end of turn. (Damage and effects that say "destroy" don't destroy them.)

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2013: Because Break of Day affects only creatures you control when it resolves. It won’t affect creatures that come under your control later in the turn.
  • 7/1/2013: Break of Day checks your life total only at the time it resolves. Any creatures that gain indestructible will continue to be indestructible that turn even if you gain life.
Printings:
#3 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Tagesanbruch
French Point du jour
Italian L'Alba
Spanish Al rayar el alba
Portuguese Raiar do Dia
Japanese 暁天
Simplified Chinese 曙光乍现
Russian Зарождение Дня
Traditional Chinese 曙光乍現
Korean 동틀 녘


all prints in all languages

Burden of Guilt Burden of Guilt English

Enchantment — Aura, W (1)

Enchant creature

{1}: Tap enchanted creature.

"Grab an axe and defend the gate! Your despair is an extravagance we can ill afford."
—Thalia, Knight-Cathar

Illus. John Stanko

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Only Burden of Guilt’s controller can activate its ability.
Printings:
#4 (John Stanko)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Schuldgefühle
French Fardeau de culpabilité
Italian Peso del Rimorso
Spanish Peso de la culpa
Portuguese Fardo da Culpa
Japanese 罪の重責
Simplified Chinese 内疚拖累
Russian Бремя Вины
Traditional Chinese 內疚拖累
Korean 죄책감의 무게


all prints in all languages

Curse of Exhaustion Curse of Exhaustion English

Enchantment — Aura Curse, 2WW (4)

Enchant player

Enchanted player can't cast more than one spell each turn.

"I do believe your heresy will prove more difficult now that you have more pressing concerns."
—Bishop Argust

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Curse of Exhaustion will look at the entire turn to see if the enchanted player has cast a spell yet that turn, even if Curse of Exhaustion wasn’t on the battlefield when that spell was cast.
Printings:
#5 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Fluch der Erschöpfung
French Malédiction de l'épuisement
Italian Maledizione dello Sfinimento
Spanish Maldición de agotamiento
Portuguese Maldição da Exaustão
Japanese 疲労の呪い
Simplified Chinese 疲竭诅咒
Russian Проклятие Изнеможения
Traditional Chinese 疲竭詛咒
Korean 기진맥진의 저주


all prints in all languages

Elgaud Inquisitor Elgaud Inquisitor English

Creature — Human Cleric 2/2, 3W (4)

Lifelink (Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.)

When Elgaud Inquisitor dies, put a 1/1 white Spirit creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

"It will take more than steel alone to purge this world of evil."

Illus. Slawomir Maniak

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#6 (Slawomir Maniak)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Inquisitor von Ellgau
French Inquisiteur d'Elgaud
Italian Inquisitore di Elgaud
Spanish Inquisidor de Elgaud
Portuguese Inquisidor de Elgaud
Japanese エルゴードの審問官
Simplified Chinese 艾尔告审判官
Russian Элгодский Инквизитор
Traditional Chinese 艾爾告審判官
Korean 엘고드 이단심문관


all prints in all languages

Faith's Shield Faith's Shield English

Instant, W (1)

Target permanent you control gains protection from the color of your choice until end of turn.

Fateful hour — If you have 5 or less life, instead you and each permanent you control gain protection from the color of your choice until end of turn.

Illus. Svetlin Velinov

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Faith’s Shield targets a permanent regardless of how much life you have. If that permanent is an illegal target when Faith’s Shield tries to resolve, Faith’s Shield will be countered and none of its effects will happen. Neither you nor any of your permanents will gain protection from a color.
  • 1/22/2011: You choose only one color (not one color per player and permanent). You choose the color as Faith’s Shield resolves.
  • 1/22/2011: A player with protection from a color can’t be damaged, enchanted (including by Curses), or targeted by anything of that color.
Printings:
#7 (Svetlin Velinov)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Schild des Glaubens
French Bouclier de la Foi
Italian Scudo della Fede
Spanish Escudo de fe
Portuguese Escudo da Fé
Japanese 信仰の盾
Simplified Chinese 信念护盾
Russian Щит Веры
Traditional Chinese 信念護盾
Korean 신념의 방패


all prints in all languages

Gather the Townsfolk Gather the Townsfolk English

Sorcery, 1W (2)

Put two 1/1 white Human creature tokens onto the battlefield.

Fateful hour — If you have 5 or less life, put five of those tokens onto the battlefield instead.

In the memories of those they lost lies the strength needed to defend their city.

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#8 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Blessed vs. Cursed (Common)
English Dark Ascension (Common)
English WPN/Gateway (Special)

Languages:
German Die Bürger versammeln
French Rassemblement des citadins
Italian Radunare i Cittadini
Spanish Reunir a los aldeanos
Portuguese Reunir o Povo
Japanese 町民の結集
Simplified Chinese 集合镇民
Russian Сбор Горожан
Traditional Chinese 集合鎮民
Korean 주민 소집


all prints in all languages

Gavony Ironwright Gavony Ironwright English

Creature — Human Soldier 1/4, 2W (3)

Fateful hour — As long as you have 5 or less life, other creatures you control get +1/+4.

"I wish my work could shelter everyone, yet I pray we are never so few that it does."

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#9 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Eisenhauerin aus Gaven
French Forgefer de Gavonie
Italian Forgiaferro di Gavony
Spanish Herradora de Gavony
Portuguese Ferreiro de Gavony
Japanese ガヴォニーの鉄大工
Simplified Chinese 加渥尼修铁匠
Russian Гевонская Ковательница
Traditional Chinese 加渥尼修鐵匠
Korean 가보니의 대장장이


all prints in all languages

Hollowhenge Spirit Hollowhenge Spirit English

Creature — Spirit 2/2, 3W (4)

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Flying

When Hollowhenge Spirit enters the battlefield, remove target attacking or blocking creature from combat.

Some spirits mourn. Others terrorize.

Illus. Lars Grant-West

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: Removing an attacking creature from combat doesn’t untap that creature.
  • 1/22/2011: Removing a blocking creature from combat doesn’t cause the creature it was blocking to become unblocked. If no other creatures are blocking that attacking creature, it won’t assign combat damage (unless it has trample).
  • 1/22/2011: If there are multiple combat phases in a turn, a creature that’s been removed from combat can still attack or block in future combat steps that turn.
Printings:
#10 (Lars Grant-West)

Editions:
English Conspiracy: Take the Crown (Uncommon)
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Geist aus Hohlhengel
French Esprit de Cerclecreux
Italian Spirito di Fossocavo
Spanish Espíritu de Hollowhenge
Portuguese Espírito de Vale Seco
Japanese ホロウヘンジの霊魂
Simplified Chinese 空圆地精怪
Russian Дух из Холлоухенджа
Traditional Chinese 空圓地精靈
Korean 할로우헨지 신령


all prints in all languages

Increasing Devotion Increasing Devotion English

Sorcery, 3WW (5)

Put five 1/1 white Human creature tokens onto the battlefield. If Increasing Devotion was cast from a graveyard, put ten of those tokens onto the battlefield instead.

Flashback {7}{W}{W} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Illus. Daniel Ljunggren

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#11 (Daniel Ljunggren)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Blessed vs. Cursed (Rare)
English Dark Ascension (Rare)

Languages:
German Zunehmende Hingabe
French Dévotion grandissante
Italian Devozione Crescente
Spanish Aumentar la devoción
Portuguese Devoção Crescente
Japanese 高まる献身
Simplified Chinese 奉献渐增
Russian Растущая Преданность
Traditional Chinese 奉獻漸增
Korean 커져가는 헌신


all prints in all languages

Lingering Souls Lingering Souls English

Sorcery, 2W (3)

Put two 1/1 white Spirit creature tokens with flying onto the battlefield.

Flashback {1}{B} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

The murdered inhabitants of Hollowhenge impart to the living the terror they felt in death.

Illus. Bud Cook

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • Banned in Block Constructed
Printings:
#12 (Bud Cook)

Editions:
English Modern Event Deck (Uncommon)
English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Uncommon)
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Verweilende Seelen
French Âmes persistantes
Italian Anime Indugianti
Spanish Almas persistentes
Portuguese Almas Penadas
Japanese 未練ある魂
Simplified Chinese 徘徊灵魂
Russian Задержавшиеся Души
Traditional Chinese 徘徊靈魂
Korean 잔존하는 영혼들


all prints in all languages

Loyal Cathar Loyal Cathar English

Creature — Human Soldier 2/2, WW (2)

Vigilance

When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step.

"I trust myself to do my duty, even unto death. It's what comes after that I'm afraid of."
—Constable Visil, to Thalia

Illus. Ryan Pancoast

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: When Loyal Cathar dies, it will return to the battlefield with its back face (Unhallowed Cathar) up. It doesn't return to the battlefield and then transform.
  • 1/22/2011: If a card that isn't a double-faced card becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar (due to Cytoshape, for example) and then dies, that card will return to the battlefield. It will no longer be a copy of Loyal Cathar and will simply have its printed characteristics.
  • 1/22/2011: Another double-faced card that becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar and then dies will return to the battlefield with its back face up.
  • 1/22/2011: If you gain control of a Loyal Cathar owned by another player and it dies, it will be put into to its owner's graveyard and then return to the battlefield under your control.
The other part is:
English Unhallowed Cathar

Printings:
#13a (Ryan Pancoast)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Treuer Katharer
French Cathare loyal
Italian Cataro Leale
Spanish Cátaro leal
Portuguese Cátaro Leal
Japanese 忠実な聖戦士
Simplified Chinese 忠诚护教军
Russian Верный Катар
Traditional Chinese 忠誠護教軍
Korean 충직한 카타르


all prints in all languages

Unhallowed Cathar Unhallowed Cathar English

Creature — Zombie Soldier 2/1
(Color Indicator: Black)

Unhallowed Cathar can't block.

"Just fight without fear. Your soul is protected by the hand of Avacyn and will never submit to evil."
—Thalia, to Constable Visil

Illus. Ryan Pancoast

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: When Loyal Cathar dies, it will return to the battlefield with its back face (Unhallowed Cathar) up. It doesn't return to the battlefield and then transform.
  • 1/22/2011: If a card that isn't a double-faced card becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar (due to Cytoshape, for example) and then dies, that card will return to the battlefield. It will no longer be a copy of Loyal Cathar and will simply have its printed characteristics.
  • 1/22/2011: Another double-faced card that becomes a copy of Loyal Cathar and then dies will return to the battlefield with its back face up.
  • 1/22/2011: If you gain control of a Loyal Cathar owned by another player and it dies, it will be put into to its owner's graveyard and then return to the battlefield under your control.
The other part is:
English Loyal Cathar

Printings:
#13b (Ryan Pancoast)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Unheiliger Katharer
French Cathare maudit
Italian Cataro Sacrilego
Spanish Cátaro impío
Portuguese Cátaro Maldito
Japanese 不浄の聖戦士
Simplified Chinese 护教军孽物
Russian Неосвященный Катар
Traditional Chinese 護教軍孽物
Korean 불경한 카타르


all prints in all languages

Midnight Guard Midnight Guard English

Creature — Human Soldier 2/3, 2W (3)

Whenever another creature enters the battlefield, untap Midnight Guard.

"When you're on watch, no noise is harmless and no shadow can be ignored."
—Olgard of the Skiltfolk

Illus. Jason A. Engle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#14 (Jason A. Engle)

Editions:
English Magic 2015 (Common)
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Mitternachts-Wachposten
French Garde de minuit
Italian Guardia di Mezzanotte
Spanish Guardia de medianoche
Portuguese Guardião da Meia-noite
Japanese 深夜の護衛
Simplified Chinese 午夜哨兵
Russian Полуночный Стражник
Traditional Chinese 午夜哨兵
Korean 심야의 경비병


all prints in all languages

Niblis of the Mist Niblis of the Mist English

Creature — Spirit 2/1, 2W (3)

Flying

When Niblis of the Mist enters the battlefield, you may tap target creature.

"Not even a roaring fire could thaw the chill it put in my heart."
—Vonn, geist-trapper

Illus. Igor Kieryluk

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#15 (Igor Kieryluk)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Nebel-Nibilis
French Niblis de la brume
Italian Niblis della Foschia
Spanish Niblis de la niebla
Portuguese Niblis da Névoa
Japanese 霧のニブリス
Simplified Chinese 雾气寒灵
Russian Ниблис из Тумана
Traditional Chinese 霧氣寒靈
Korean 안개의 니블리스


all prints in all languages

Niblis of the Urn Niblis of the Urn English

Creature — Spirit 1/1, 1W (2)

Flying

Whenever Niblis of the Urn attacks, you may tap target creature.

"I never had the nerve to open that bottle. I'll bet you're wishing right now you hadn't been so curious yourself."
—Old Rutstein

Illus. Igor Kieryluk

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#16 (Igor Kieryluk)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Urnen-Nibilis
French Niblis de l'urne
Italian Niblis dell'Urna
Spanish Niblis de la urna
Portuguese Niblis da Ânfora
Japanese 壺のニブリス
Simplified Chinese 壶中寒灵
Russian Ниблис из Погребальной Урны
Traditional Chinese 壺中寒靈
Korean 단지의 니블리스


all prints in all languages

Ray of Revelation Ray of Revelation English

Instant, 1W (2)

Destroy target enchantment.

Flashback {G} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

"May angels carry him into the Blessed Sleep with dreams of sunlit days and moonless nights."
—Tomb inscription of Saint Raban

Illus. Cliff Childs

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#17 (Cliff Childs)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)
English Judgment (Common)

Languages:
German Strahl der Offenbarung
French Rayon de révélation
Italian Raggio della Rivelazione
Spanish Rayo de revelación
Portuguese Raio da Revelação
Japanese 天啓の光
Simplified Chinese 揭露之光
Russian Луч Откровения
Traditional Chinese 揭露之光
Korean 계시의 광선


all prints in all languages

Requiem Angel Requiem Angel English

Creature — Angel 5/5, 5W (6)

Flying

Whenever another non-Spirit creature you control dies, put a 1/1 white Spirit creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

When angels despair, what hope can remain for mortals?

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#18 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Dark Ascension (Rare)

Languages:
German Requiem-Engel
French Ange du requiem
Italian Angelo del Requiem
Spanish Ángel del réquiem
Portuguese Anjo do Réquiem
Japanese 鎮魂歌の天使
Simplified Chinese 安魂天使
Russian Ангел Панихиды
Traditional Chinese 安魂天使
Korean 장송곡의 천사


all prints in all languages

Sanctuary Cat Sanctuary Cat English

Creature — Cat 1/2, W (1)

Cats prowl the corridors of Avacyn's churches in search of devils or signs of their mischief.

Illus. David Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#19 (David Palumbo)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Common)

Languages:
German Katze des Heiligtums
French Chat du sanctuaire
Italian Gatto del Santuario
Spanish Gato del santuario
Portuguese Gato de Santuário
Japanese 聖所の猫
Simplified Chinese 圣堂猫
Russian Кошка из Святилища
Traditional Chinese 聖堂貓
Korean 성소 고양이


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ][ 161-171 ] 171 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.