From the Vault: Legends fvl/en


[ 1-15 ] 15 cards

Mikaeus, the Lunarch Mikaeus, the Lunarch English

Legendary Creature — Human Cleric 0/0, XW (1)

Mikaeus, the Lunarch enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it.

{T}: Put a +1/+1 counter on Mikaeus.

{T}, Remove a +1/+1 counter from Mikaeus: Put a +1/+1 counter on each other creature you control.

Illus. Steven Belledin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#6 (Steven Belledin)

Editions:
English Innistrad (Mythic Rare)
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Lunarch Mikaeus
French Mikaeus, le lunarque
Italian Mikaeus, il Lunarca
Spanish Mikaeus, el Lunarca
Portuguese Mikaeus, o Lunarca
Japanese 月皇ミケウス
Simplified Chinese 月主教米凯耶
Russian Микеас, Лунарх
Traditional Chinese 月主教米凱耶


all prints in all languages

Omnath, Locus of Mana Omnath, Locus of Mana English

Legendary Creature — Elemental 1/1, 2G (3)

Green mana doesn't empty from your mana pool as steps and phases end.

Omnath, Locus of Mana gets +1/+1 for each green mana in your mana pool.

It gathers against the coming storm.

Illus. Mike Bierek

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 3/1/2010: You can keep green mana in your mana pool indefinitely while Omnath is on the battlefield. That means if you add a green mana to your mana pool during one step or phase, you can spend it during a later step or phase, or even a later turn. Other types of mana will continue to empty from your mana pool as each step and phase ends.
  • 3/1/2010: If a green mana you add to your mana pool has certain restrictions or riders associated with it (for example, if it was produced by Ancient Ziggurat), they'll apply to that mana no matter when you spend it.
  • 3/1/2010: Once Omnath leaves the battlefield, you have until the end of the current step or phase to spend whatever green mana is in your mana pool before it too empties as normal. There is no penalty associated with this other than the loss of the mana.
Printings:
#7 (Mike Bierek)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Worldwake (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Omnath, der Sammelpunkt des Manas
French Omnath, Locus de mana
Italian Omnath, il Manalocus
Spanish Omnath, centro de maná
Portuguese Omnath, Locus de Mana
Japanese マナの座、オムナス
Simplified Chinese 魔力核欧那斯
Russian Омнат, Очаг Маны
Korean Omnath, Locus of Mana


all prints in all languages

Captain Sisay Captain Sisay English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 2/2, 2WG (4)

{T}: Search your library for a legendary card, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Her leadership forged the Weatherlight's finest crew.

Illus. Ray Lago

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#2 (Ray Lago)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Invasion (Rare)

Languages:
German Kapitän Sisay
French Capitaine Sissay
Italian Capitano Sisay
Spanish Capitana de Sisay
Portuguese Capitã Sisay


all prints in all languages

Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker English

Legendary Creature — Goblin Shaman 2/2, 2RRR (5)

Haste

{T}: Put a token that's a copy of target nonlegendary creature you control onto the battlefield. That token has haste. Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.

Illus. Steven Belledin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/7/2013: As the token is created, it checks the printed values of the creature it's copying -- or, if that creature is itself a token, the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield -- as well as any copy effects that have been applied to it. It won't copy counters on the creature, nor will it copy other effects that have changed the creature's power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
  • 6/7/2013: Haste is part of the token's copiable values. Copies of that token will also have haste.
Printings:
#4 (Steven Belledin)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Mythic Rare)
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Champions of Kamigawa (Rare)

Languages:
German Kiki-Jiki, Spiegelzerbrecher
French Kiki-Jiki, brise-miroir
Italian Kiki-Jiki, Spaccaspecchi
Spanish Kiki-Jiki, el rompe espejos
Portuguese Kiki-Jiki, o Estilhaçador de Espelhos
Japanese 鏡割りのキキジキ
Simplified Chinese 裂镜奇奇几奇


all prints in all languages

Cao Cao, Lord of Wei Cao Cao, Lord of Wei English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 3/3, 3BB (5)

{T}: Target opponent discards two cards. Activate this ability only during your turn, before attackers are declared.

Illus. Gao Jianzhang

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2013: If a turn has multiple combat phases, the ability can only be activated before the beginning of the declare attackers step of the first combat phase in that turn.
Printings:
#1 (Gao Jianzhang)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Portal Three Kingdoms (Rare)

Languages:
Japanese 魏公 曹操
Simplified Chinese Cao Cao, Lord of Wei


all prints in all languages

Kresh the Bloodbraided Kresh the Bloodbraided English

Legendary Creature — Human Warrior 3/3, 2BRG (5)

Whenever another creature dies, you may put X +1/+1 counters on Kresh the Bloodbraided, where X is that creature's power.

Each of his twenty-two braids is bound with bone and leather from a foe.

Illus. Steve Argyle

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: X is equal to the power of the creature as it last existed on the battlefield.
Printings:
#5 (Steve Argyle)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Kresh Blutzopf
French Kresh aux Nattes sanguinolentes
Italian Kresh dalle Trecce Rosse
Spanish Kresh Trenzas Sangrientas
Portuguese Kresh Tranças-de-Sangue
Japanese 血編み髪のクレシュ
Simplified Chinese 血辫奎许
Russian Креш Кровавокосый


all prints in all languages

Rafiq of the Many Rafiq of the Many English

Legendary Creature — Human Knight 3/3, 1WUG (4)

Exalted (Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, it gains double strike until end of turn.

Many sigils, one purpose.

Illus. Wayne Reynolds

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: If you declare exactly one creature as an attacker, each exalted ability on each permanent you control (including, perhaps, the attacking creature itself) will trigger. The bonuses are given to the attacking creature, not to the permanent with exalted. Ultimately, the attacking creature will wind up with +1/+1 for each of your exalted abilities.
  • 10/1/2008: If you attack with multiple creatures, but then all but one are removed from combat, your exalted abilities won't trigger.
  • 10/1/2008: Some effects put creatures onto the battlefield attacking. Since those creatures were never declared as attackers, they're ignored by exalted abilities. They won't cause exalted abilities to trigger. If any exalted abilities have already triggered (because exactly one creature was declared as an attacker), those abilities will resolve as normal even though there may now be multiple attackers.
  • 10/1/2008: Exalted abilities will resolve before blockers are declared.
  • 10/1/2008: Exalted bonuses last until end of turn. If an effect creates an additional combat phase during your turn, a creature that attacked alone during the first combat phase will still have its exalted bonuses in that new phase. If a creature attacks alone during the second combat phase, all your exalted abilities will trigger again.
  • 10/1/2008: In a Two-Headed Giant game, a creature "attacks alone" if it's the only creature declared as an attacker by your entire team. If you control that attacking creature, your exalted abilities will trigger but your teammate's exalted abilities won't.
Printings:
#10 (Wayne Reynolds)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Rafiq von den Vielen
French Rafiq aux Innombrables
Italian Rafiq dei Molti
Spanish Rafiq de los Mil Sellos
Portuguese Rafiq dos Muitos
Japanese 数多のラフィーク
Simplified Chinese 千印莱菲
Russian Рафик Многомедальный


all prints in all languages

Sun Quan, Lord of Wu Sun Quan, Lord of Wu English

Legendary Creature — Human Soldier 4/4, 4UU (6)

Creatures you control have horsemanship. (They can't be blocked except by creatures with horsemanship.)

"One score and four he reigned, the Southland king: / A dragon coiled, a tiger poised below the mighty Yangtze."

Illus. Xu Xiaoming

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: Despite the similarities between horsemanship and flying, horsemanship doesn't interact with flying or reach.
  • 10/1/2009: Sun Quan's ability affects Sun Quan itself.
Printings:
#12 (Xu Xiaoming)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Portal Three Kingdoms (Rare)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Rare)

Languages:
Japanese 呉主 孫権
Simplified Chinese Sun Quan, Lord of Wu


all prints in all languages

Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir English

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard 3/4, 2UUU (5)

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Creature cards you own that aren't on the battlefield have flash.

Each opponent can cast spells only any time he or she could cast a sorcery.

To save this plane, he must forsake all others.

Illus. Volkan Baga

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/25/2006: The last ability means that in order for an opponent to cast a spell, it must be that opponent's turn, during a main phase, and the stack must be empty. This is true even if the player doesn't have a sorcery he or she is able to cast, or if a rule or effect allows a spell to be cast at another time.
  • 9/25/2006: If you have Teferi on the battlefield, you may exile creature cards in your hand with suspend any time you could cast an instant.
  • 9/25/2006: If an ability lets an opponent cast a spell as part of its effect (such as Isochron Scepter's ability does), that opponent can't cast that spell since the currently resolving ability is still on the stack.
  • 9/25/2006: Your opponents can't cast their suspended cards, no matter what phase it is when the last time counter is removed. Your opponents can't cast cards using the madness ability either, no matter what phase it is when the card is discarded.
  • 5/1/2007: If you have Teferi on the battlefield and there's a Split Second spell on the stack (such as Sudden Death), you can't Suspend creatures until after the Split Second spell resolves.
Printings:
#13 (Volkan Baga)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Time Spiral (Rare)

Languages:
German Teferi, Magier von Zhalfir
French Téfeiri, mage de Zhalfir
Italian Teferi, Mago di Zhalfir
Spanish Teferi, mago de Zhalfir
Portuguese Teferi, Mago de Zhalfir
Japanese ザルファーの魔道士、テフェリー
Simplified Chinese 赛费尔法师泰菲力
Russian Тефери, Маг Жалфири


all prints in all languages

Doran, the Siege Tower Doran, the Siege Tower English

Legendary Creature — Treefolk Shaman 0/5, WBG (3)

Each creature assigns combat damage equal to its toughness rather than its power.

"Each year that passes rings you inwardly with memory and might. Wield your heart, and the world will tremble."

Illus. Mark Zug

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2007: Doran's ability means, for example, that a 2/3 creature will assign 3 damage in combat instead of 2.
  • 10/1/2007: Doran's ability doesn't actually change creatures' power; it changes only the value of the combat damage they assign. All other rules and effects that check power or toughness use the real values.
  • 10/1/2007: This effect is mandatory and affects all creatures.
Printings:
#3 (Mark Zug)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Lorwyn (Rare)
English Champs (Special)

Languages:
German Doran, der Belagerungsturm
French Doran, la Tour de siège
Italian Doran, la Torre d'Assedio
Spanish Dóran, la torre de asedio
Portuguese Doran, a Torre de Cerco
Japanese 包囲の搭、ドラン
Simplified Chinese 攻城塔杜蓝
Russian Доран, Осадная Башня
Traditional Chinese 攻城塔杜藍


all prints in all languages

Oona, Queen of the Fae Oona, Queen of the Fae English

Legendary Creature — Faerie Wizard 5/5, 3{U/B}{U/B}{U/B} (6)

Flying

{X}{U/B}: Choose a color. Target opponent exiles the top X cards of his or her library. For each card of the chosen color exiled this way, put a 1/1 blue and black Faerie Rogue creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

Illus. Adam Rex

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2008: You target the opponent when you activate Oona's ability. You don't choose the color until the ability resolves.
  • 5/1/2008: The tokens enter the battlefield under your control.
Printings:
#8 (Adam Rex)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Rare)
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Shadowmoor (Rare)

Languages:
German Oona, Königin der Feen
French Oona, reine des færies
Italian Oona, Regina degli Spiritelli
Spanish Oona, reina de las hadas
Portuguese Oona, Rainha das Fadinas
Japanese 妖精の女王、ウーナ
Simplified Chinese 仙儿女王欧娜
Russian Уна, Королева Фей
Traditional Chinese Oona, Queen of the Fae


all prints in all languages

Sharuum the Hegemon Sharuum the Hegemon English

Legendary Artifact Creature — Sphinx 5/5, 3WUB (6)

Flying

When Sharuum the Hegemon enters the battlefield, you may return target artifact card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

To gain audience with the hegemon, one must bring a riddle she has not heard.

Illus. Todd Lockwood

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#11 (Todd Lockwood)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Mythic Rare)
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Sharuum, Sphinx-Hegemon
French Sharuûm l'Hégémon
Italian Sharuum l'Egemone
Spanish Sharuum la Hegemón
Portuguese Sharuum, a Hegemônica
Japanese 覇者シャルム
Simplified Chinese 支配者韶伦
Russian Шарум Гегемон


all prints in all languages

Visara the Dreadful Visara the Dreadful English

Legendary Creature — Gorgon 5/5, 3BBB (6)

Flying

{T}: Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated.

"My eyes are my strongest feature."

Illus. Brad Rigney

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#15 (Brad Rigney)

Editions:
English Vintage Masters (Rare)
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Onslaught (Rare)

Languages:
German Visara die Fürchterliche
French Visara la redoutable
Italian Visara la Temibile
Spanish Vísara la terrible
Portuguese Visara a Pavorosa


all prints in all languages

Progenitus Progenitus English

Legendary Creature — Hydra Avatar 10/10, WWUUBBRRGG (10)

Protection from everything

If Progenitus would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, reveal Progenitus and shuffle it into its owner's library instead.

The Soul of the World has returned.

Illus. Mike Bierek

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: "Protection from everything" means the following: Progenitus can't be blocked, Progenitus can't be enchanted or equipped, Progenitus can't be the target of spells or abilities, and all damage that would be dealt to Progenitus is prevented.
  • 2/1/2009: Progenitus can still be affected by effects that don't target it or deal damage to it (such as Day of Judgment).
Printings:
#9 (Mike Bierek)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Mythic Rare)
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Conflux (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Progenitus
French Progénitus
Italian Progenitus
Spanish Progenitus
Portuguese Progenitus
Japanese 大祖始
Simplified Chinese 祖神兽
Russian Прародитель


all prints in all languages

Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre English

Legendary Creature — Eldrazi 10/10, 11 (11)

When you cast Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre, destroy target permanent.

Indestructible

Annihilator 4 (Whenever this creature attacks, defending player sacrifices four permanents.)

When Ulamog is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles his or her graveyard into his or her library.

Illus. Aleksi Briclot

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/15/2010: Annihilator abilities trigger and resolve during the declare attackers step. The defending player chooses and sacrifices the required number of permanents before he or she declares blockers. Any creatures sacrificed this way won't be able to block.
  • 6/15/2010: If a creature with annihilator is attacking a planeswalker, and the defending player chooses to sacrifice that planeswalker, the attacking creature continues to attack. It may be blocked. If it isn't blocked, it simply won't deal combat damage to anything.
  • 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, the controller of an attacking creature with annihilator chooses which of the defending players is affected by the ability. Only that player sacrifices permanents. The choice is made as the ability resolves; once a player is chosen, it's too late for anyone to respond.
  • 7/1/2013: Lethal damage and effects that say "destroy" won't cause a creature with indestructible to be put into the graveyard. However, a creature with indestructible can be put into the graveyard for a number of reasons. The most likely reasons are if it's sacrificed, if it's legendary and another legendary creature with the same name is controlled by the same player, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
Printings:
#14 (Aleksi Briclot)

Editions:
English From the Vault: Legends (Mythic Rare)
English Rise of the Eldrazi (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Ulamog, der unendliche Wirbel
French Ulamog, l'Épicycle Infini
Italian Ulamog, il Cerchio Infinito
Spanish Ulamog, la espiral infinita
Portuguese Ulamog, o Vórtice Infinito
Japanese 無限に廻るもの、ウラモグ
Simplified Chinese 无尽轮回钨拉莫
Russian Уламог, Бесконечный Вихрь


all prints in all languages

[ 1-15 ] 15 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.