next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-47 ] 47 cards

Absorb Vis Absorb Vis English

Sorcery, 6B (7)

Target player loses 4 life and you gain 4 life.

Basic landcycling {1}{B} ({1}{B}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Illus. Brandon Kitkouski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, basic landcycling doesn't allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a basic land card. You don't choose the type of basic land card you'll find until you're performing the search. After you choose a basic land card in your library, you reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being basic landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a basic landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with basic landcycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 2/1/2009: You can choose not to find a basic land card, even if there is one in your library.
Printings:
#71 (Brandon Kitkouski)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Lebenskraft absorbieren
French Absorption de la vithe
Italian Assorbire Vis
Spanish Absorber vis
Portuguese Absorver Vis
Japanese ヴィスの吸収
Simplified Chinese 吸取维质
Russian Впитать Мощь


all prints in all languages

Armillary Sphere Armillary Sphere English

Artifact, 2 (2)

{2}, {T}, Sacrifice Armillary Sphere: Search your library for up to two basic land cards, reveal them, and put them into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

The mysterious purpose of two of the rings had eluded Esper mages—until now.

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#235 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Common)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Duel Decks: Venser vs. Koth (Common)
English Commander (Common)
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Armillarsphäre
French Sphère armillaire
Italian Astrolabio Sferico
Spanish Esfera armilar
Portuguese Esfera Armilar
Japanese 天球儀
Simplified Chinese 浑天仪
Russian Армиллярная Сфера


all prints in all languages

Borderland Ranger Borderland Ranger English

Creature — Human Scout 2/2, 2G (3)

When Borderland Ranger enters the battlefield, you may search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. If you do, shuffle your library.

"There's only one route from Kessig into Stensia. Unless you come with me."

Illus. Zoltan Boros

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#169 (Zoltan Boros)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Common)
English Magic 2010 (Common)

Languages:
German Grenzlandwaldläufer
French Ranger des frontières
Italian Ranger delle Terre di Confine
Spanish Guardabosque fronterizo
Portuguese Patrulheiro de Fronteira
Japanese 国境地帯のレインジャー
Simplified Chinese 边境巡林者
Russian Лесничий с Окраины
Traditional Chinese 邊境巡林者
Korean 국경지대 레인저


all prints in all languages

Braidwood Sextant Braidwood Sextant English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{2}, {T}, Sacrifice Braidwood Sextant: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Hazeltine

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#127 (Hazeltine)

Editions:
English Urza's Destiny (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Flechtholzsextant
French Sextant de Bois Natté
Italian Sestante di vitigno
Spanish Sextante de madera trenzada
Portuguese Sextante de Braidwood


all prints in all languages

Caravan Vigil Caravan Vigil English

Sorcery, G (1)

Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.

Morbid — You may put that card onto the battlefield instead of putting it into your hand if a creature died this turn.

Illus. Drew Baker

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: You can choose to put the basic land card into your hand even if a creature died the turn you cast Caravan Vigil.
Printings:
#173 (Drew Baker)

Editions:
English Innistrad (Common)

Languages:
German Karawanen-Nachtwache
French Veille de caravane
Italian Sorvegliare la Carovana
Spanish Vigilia de la caravana
Portuguese Vigília da Caravana
Japanese 隊商の夜番
Simplified Chinese 商队守夜
Russian Караванное Дежурство
Traditional Chinese 商隊守夜


all prints in all languages

Civic Wayfinder Civic Wayfinder English

Creature — Elf Warrior Druid 2/2, 2G (3)

When Civic Wayfinder enters the battlefield, you may search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. If you do, shuffle your library.

These alleys are not safe. Come, I can guide you back to the market square.

Illus. Cyril Van Der Haegen

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#56 (Cyril Van Der Haegen)

Editions:
English Duels of the Planeswalkers (Common)
English Tenth Edition (Common)
English Ravnica: City of Guilds (Common)

Languages:
German Stadtpfadfinder
French Guidevoie municipal
Italian Battipista Urbano
Spanish Buscacaminos cívico
Portuguese Guia Urbano
Japanese 護民官の道探し
Simplified Chinese 城市引路人
Russian Городской Проводник
Traditional Chinese 城市引路人


all prints in all languages

Cultivate Cultivate English

Sorcery, 2G (3)

Search your library for up to two basic land cards, reveal those cards, and put one onto the battlefield tapped and the other into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

All seeds share a common bond, calling to each other across infinity.

Illus. Anthony Palumbo

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/15/2010: If you choose to find only one basic land card, you put it onto the battlefield tapped.
Printings:
#139 (Anthony Palumbo)

Editions:
English Commander 2013 Edition (Common)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Commander (Common)
English Magic 2011 (Common)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Kultivieren
French Culture
Italian Coltivare
Spanish Cultivar
Portuguese Cultivar
Japanese 耕作
Simplified Chinese 栽培
Russian Культивировать
Traditional Chinese 栽培


all prints in all languages

Diligent Farmhand Diligent Farmhand English

Creature — Human Druid 1/1, G (1)

{1}{G}, Sacrifice Diligent Farmhand: Search your library for a basic land card and put that card onto the battlefield tapped. Then shuffle your library.

If Diligent Farmhand is in a graveyard, effects from spells named Muscle Burst count it as a card named Muscle Burst.

Illus. Gary Ruddell

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#237 (Gary Ruddell)

Editions:
English Odyssey (Common)

Languages:
German Emsiger Erntehelfer
French Métayer efficace
Italian Bracciante Diligente
Spanish Agricultor activo
Portuguese Colono Diligente


all prints in all languages

Elfhame Sanctuary Elfhame Sanctuary English

Enchantment, 1G (2)

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may search your library for a basic land card, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. If you do, you skip your draw step this turn and shuffle your library.

Illus. Alan Rabinowitz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If you have more than one of these on the battlefield, you get to use them all and you don't skip multiple draw steps.
  • 10/4/2004: The "if you do" means "if you search your library". You get to skip your draw step and shuffle your deck even if you don't find (or choose not to find) a basic land.
  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#185 (Alan Rabinowitz)

Editions:
English Invasion (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Elfheim-Heiligtum
French Sanctuaire terrelfe
Italian Santuario del Regno degli Elfi
Spanish Santuario Elfhogar
Portuguese Santuário de Elfilar


all prints in all languages

Evolution Charm Evolution Charm English

Instant, 1G (2)

Choose one —

• Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.

• Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand.

• Target creature gains flying until end of turn.

Illus. John Avon

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#127 (John Avon)

Editions:
English Planar Chaos (Common)

Languages:
German Amulett der Evolution
French Charme d'évolution
Italian Monile dell'Evoluzione
Spanish Amuleto de evolución
Portuguese Medalhão da Evolução
Japanese 進化の魔除け
Simplified Chinese 演化护符
Russian Медальон Развития


all prints in all languages

Expedition Map Expedition Map English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{2}, {T}, Sacrifice Expedition Map: Search your library for a land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

"I use maps to find out where explorers have already been. Then I go the other way."
—Javad Nasrin, Ondu relic hunter

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: You may find any land card, not just a basic land card.
Printings:
#201 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Zendikar (Common)

Languages:
German Expeditionskarte
French Carte d'expédition
Italian Mappa della Spedizione
Spanish Mapa de la expedición
Portuguese Mapa da Expedição
Japanese 探検の地図
Simplified Chinese 探险地图
Russian Карта Экспедиции


all prints in all languages

Fiery Fall Fiery Fall English

Instant, 5R (6)

Fiery Fall deals 5 damage to target creature.

Basic landcycling {1}{R} ({1}{R}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Jund feasts on the unprepared.

Illus. Daarken

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, basic landcycling doesn't allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a basic land card. You don't choose the type of basic land card you'll find until you're performing the search. After you choose a basic land card in your library, you reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being basic landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a basic landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with basic landcycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 2/1/2009: You can choose not to find a basic land card, even if there is one in your library.
Printings:
#29 (Daarken)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Speed vs. Cunning (Common)
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Planechase 2012 Edition (Common)
English Duel Decks: Knights vs. Dragons (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Feuriger Fall
French Chute ardente
Italian Rovina Impetuosa
Spanish Caída ardiente
Portuguese Queda Ardente
Japanese 焦熱の落下
Simplified Chinese 暴落
Russian Огненный Провал


all prints in all languages

Gaea's Bounty Gaea's Bounty English

Sorcery, 2G (3)

Search your library for up to two Forest cards, reveal those cards, and put them into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

The forest grew back so quickly that lumbering machines were suspended in the treetops.

Illus. Stephen Daniele

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
Printings:
#254 (Stephen Daniele)

Editions:
English Urza's Saga (Common)

Languages:
German Gaeas Beute
French Don de Gaia
Italian Munificenza di Gea
Spanish Regalo de Gaia
Portuguese Prêmio de Géia


all prints in all languages

Gatecreeper Vine Gatecreeper Vine English

Creature — Plant 0/2, 1G (2)

Defender

When Gatecreeper Vine enters the battlefield, you may search your library for a basic land card or a Gate card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.

Every inch of Ravnica is home to something.

Illus. Trevor Claxton

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#48 (Trevor Claxton)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Jace vs. Vraska (Common)
English Return to Ravnica (Common)

Languages:
German Torumschlingende Ranke
French Lierre grimpe-porte
Italian Rampicante del Cancello
Spanish Enredadera del portal
Portuguese Trepadeira de Portão
Japanese 門を這う蔦
Simplified Chinese 蔓门野葛
Russian Лоза на Вратах
Traditional Chinese 蔓門野葛
Korean 관문을 덮는 넝쿨


all prints in all languages

Gem of Becoming Gem of Becoming English

Artifact, 3 (3)

{3}, {T}, Sacrifice Gem of Becoming: Search your library for an Island card, a Swamp card, and a Mountain card. Reveal those cards and put them into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Jack Wang

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/1/2012: You don't have to find all three cards, even if they're present in your library. For example, you can activate the ability just to find an Island card and a Swamp card.
Printings:
#205 (Jack Wang)

Editions:
English Magic 2013 (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Edelstein der Entstehung
French Gemme de transition
Italian Gemma del Divenire
Spanish Gema de Creación
Portuguese Pedra da Formação
Japanese 適合の宝石
Simplified Chinese 成型宝石
Russian Самоцвет Возникновения
Traditional Chinese 成型寶石
Korean 생성의 보석


all prints in all languages

Gift of Estates Gift of Estates English

Sorcery, 1W (2)

If an opponent controls more lands than you, search your library for up to three Plains cards, reveal them, and put them into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

Illus. Hugh Jamieson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2005: Gift of Estates does nothing if each of your opponents has the same number of lands or fewer as you.
  • 8/1/2005: You can find nonbasic lands if they have the Plains land type, such as dual lands (Tundra, et al).
Printings:
#73 (Hugh Jamieson)

Editions:
English Commander 2014 Edition (Uncommon)
English Ninth Edition (Uncommon)
English Portal (Rare)

Languages:
German Landschenkung
French Don de domaines
Italian Dono dell'Estate
Spanish Regalo de fincas
Portuguese Presente de Propriedades
Japanese 土地の寄進
Simplified Chinese 献地
Russian Дарованные земли
Traditional Chinese
Korean


all prints in all languages

Gleam of Resistance Gleam of Resistance English

Instant, 4W (5)

Creatures you control get +1/+2 until end of turn. Untap those creatures.

Basic landcycling {1}{W} ({1}{W}, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Illus. Matt Stewart

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: Unlike the normal cycling ability, basic landcycling doesn't allow you to draw a card. Instead, it lets you search your library for a basic land card. You don't choose the type of basic land card you'll find until you're performing the search. After you choose a basic land card in your library, you reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is a form of cycling. Any ability that triggers on a card being cycled also triggers on a card being basic landcycled. Any ability that stops a cycling ability from being activated also stops a basic landcycling ability from being activated.
  • 2/1/2009: Basic landcycling is an activated ability. Effects that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle or Rings of Brighthearth) will interact with basic landcycling. Effects that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul or Faerie Tauntings) will not.
  • 2/1/2009: You can choose not to find a basic land card, even if there is one in your library.
Printings:
#17 (Matt Stewart)

Editions:
English Modern Masters (Common)
English Conflux (Common)

Languages:
German Aufblitzen des Widerstands
French Scintillation de résistance
Italian Bagliore della Resistenza
Spanish Atisbo de resistencia
Portuguese Brilho de Resistência
Japanese 抵抗の微光
Simplified Chinese 反抗突现
Russian Вспышка Сопротивления


all prints in all languages

Greenseeker Greenseeker English

Creature — Elf Spellshaper 1/1, G (1)

{G}, {T}, Discard a card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

"A rumor passes among the snakes, whispered by the rushes, inspiring the seekers: the goddess Freyalise is alive in Skyshroud."

Illus. Rebecca Guay

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

Printings:
#198 (Rebecca Guay)

Editions:
English Time Spiral (Common)

Languages:
German Pflanzensucher
French Chercheuse de verdure
Italian Cercatrice Verde
Spanish Buscadora de verde
Portuguese Busca-verde
Japanese 緑探し
Simplified Chinese 寻碧者
Russian Искатель Цветущих Земель


all prints in all languages

Horizon Spellbomb Horizon Spellbomb English

Artifact, 1 (1)

{2}, {T}, Sacrifice Horizon Spellbomb: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.

When Horizon Spellbomb is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may pay {G}. If you do, draw a card.

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/15/2013: When you sacrifice Horizon Spellbomb, it's search ability goes on the stack, and then the triggered draw ability goes on the stack on top of it. This means you first choose whether to pay {G} and draw a card, then you search; you do not search first.
Printings:
#165 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Scars of Mirrodin (Common)

Languages:
German Horizont-Spruchbombe
French Bombe à sortilèges d'horizon
Italian Bombarcana dell'Orizzonte
Spanish Bombahechizo del horizonte
Portuguese Magibomba do Horizonte
Japanese 地平線の呪文爆弾
Simplified Chinese 地平线咒击弹
Russian Волшебная Бомба Горизонта
Traditional Chinese 地平線咒擊彈


all prints in all languages

Hunting Cheetah Hunting Cheetah English

Creature — Cat 2/3, 2G (3)

Whenever Hunting Cheetah deals damage to an opponent, you may search your library for a Forest card, reveal that card, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.

Illus. Fang Yue

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: Because the "search" requires you to find a card with certain characteristics, you don't have to find the card if you don't want to.
  • 10/1/2009: Hunting Cheetah's ability allows you to search your library for any card with the land type Forest, not just a card with the name Forest.
Printings:
#138 (Fang Yue)

Editions:
English Portal Three Kingdoms (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Common)

Languages:
Japanese 狩りをする豹
Simplified Chinese Hunting Cheetah


all prints in all languages

next 20 cards [ 1-20 ] [ 21-40 ] [ 41-47 ] 47 cards


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.