Genesis Wave Scars of Mirrodin Lifesmith

Liege of the Tangle Liege of the Tangle English

Creature — Elemental 8/8, 6GG (8)

Trample

Whenever Liege of the Tangle deals combat damage to a player, you may choose any number of target lands you control and put an awakening counter on each of them. Each of those lands is an 8/8 green Elemental creature for as long as it has an awakening counter on it. They're still lands.

Illus. Jason Chan

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/1/2011: You may choose to target zero lands.
  • 1/1/2011: Whether a targeted land remains an 8/8 green Elemental creature depends only on whether it has an awakening counter on it, not on whether Liege of the Tangle is still on the battlefield.
  • 1/1/2011: If all awakening counters on a land are moved to a land without an awakening counter on it (perhaps by using Fate Transfer), the animation effect doesn't follow them. The first land is no longer an 8/8 green Elemental creature because it no longer has an awakening counter on it. The second land isn't an 8/8 green Elemental creature because Liege of the Tangle didn't target it.
Printings:
#123 (Jason Chan)

Editions:
English Scars of Mirrodin (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Vasall des Knäuels
French Lige de la Filandre
Italian Vassallo del Groviglio
Spanish Siervo de la Maraña
Portuguese Soberano do Emaranhado
Japanese 絡み森の主
Simplified Chinese 铬铜林王侯
Russian Вассал Зарослей
Traditional Chinese 鉻銅林王侯


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Liege of the Tangle
View Decks with Liege of the Tangle
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.